Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 04, 2012, 04:01 PM
Joined Jul 2012
11 Posts
Discussion
Reusing the transmitter

I am a beginner, and would like to start with a simple model of an aircraft and heli, see what I like, then proceed to an aircraft (or a heli) with a camera, etc. Usually, aircrafts and helis are being sold with their own transmitters. Does it make sense (and if yes - is there a way) to use the same transmitter with all the models ?
igorek is offline Find More Posts by igorek
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 04, 2012, 04:17 PM
Joined Aug 2011
59 Posts
if you get a programmable transmitter such as the DX6i, or higher (DX7,8,9) then you can store up to a number of models in them and just pick which one you want to fly.. also, if you choose to use a cheaper tx, you can make the rx easy to reach in the plane/heli, and just bind (synchronize) the tx to the rx.
using 1 Tx for multiple models is a great way to save money also!!
StingRayRC is offline Find More Posts by StingRayRC
Old Jul 04, 2012, 04:26 PM
Joined Jul 2012
11 Posts
Thanks. What does it mean "bind (synchronize) the tx to the rx" ?

Also, it looked to me that most of the models are sold with their own transmitters. Will I always be able to unbundle them, to avoid paying for the transmitter ?
Old Jul 04, 2012, 04:31 PM
"Landing" in a tree somewhere
Rochester, NY
Joined Sep 2009
946 Posts
RTF kits include transmitters with them that are typically cheap and not very useful with more than one plane. They'll get you started for less money but eventually as you progress in the hobby you'll likely want something more. You could buy a more sophisticated radio with programming and multiple model memory that would last you a while along with a trainer plane/heli to go with it. Remember though with 2.4ghz receivers, they typically only work with transmitters of the same brand (with a few exceptions).