HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 22, 2011, 06:12 PM
Joined Aug 2010
66 Posts
Discussion
Great Planes Super Sportster EP Rx-R

anyone seen or flown this new little guy yet? it looks interesting and i really enjoy the larger version.we r thinking about spec racing them
fast540 is offline Find More Posts by fast540
to remove ads between posts
Old May 23, 2011, 02:00 PM
Feeding the RC Addiction
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Apr 2011
532 Posts
GPSS Rx-R Initial Review

Maiden flight for mine was yesterday in windy conditions here in So Cal. I flew it once as the wind was blowing steady around 12 - 15 mph and was gusting even harder at the field, especially when I wanted to land. What's worse it was a 90-degree cross wind to the runway. Not the ideal conditions for a first flight but I was anxious to get it in the air after prepping it earlier in the week. Got it down safely but it wasn't very smooth ending up in some tall weeds...

I'm a novice RC pilot but from my perspective the plane flies well. It's a balanced flier and the CG was spot on as called out in the manual. Very predictable and stable handling. Tracks well and carves turns without needing much up elevator input to keep the nose pointed in the direction you want to go. It's not very fast (yet) but it did handle the wind pretty well. Still it's a fairly small and light plane as it did get pushed around by the turbulent winds.

I flew mine stock except for using a 25C 1800 mAh battery and switching the non-equal length rudder and elevator servo arms. The rudder servo arm is longer than the elevator's and (to me) the elevator throw is not nearly enough. After bench testing it, it seemed the rudder had too much travel whereas the elevator did not, maybe barely 20 degrees of deflection. I merely swapped the servo arms and did an EPA on my Airtronics SD-6G radio to lengthen out the rudder travel to compensate for the switch.