HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 30, 2008, 10:27 AM
Joined Jan 2008
2 Posts
Discussion
Ducted Fan Performance Questions

I am a mechanical engineering student and am building (with a 14 person team) a vertical take-off and landing R/C aircraft with a 6ft wingspan.

We have decided to go with glow ducted fans since we think the vertical thrust we will initially need is around 10-15lbs.

I am in charge of choosing the engine and fan setup to provide this lift (through some duct work and gyro-chip controlled butterfly valves).

Initially I have chosen the OS-91 VRDF engine with a Dynamax fan.

My problem is that I cannot seem to find any performance data for this fan/setup. I know only that it is capable of providing up to 15lbf thrust with minimal duct losses.

My question to yall is if anyone knows any technical specifications of the Dynamax fan or another similar (5.25in ) fan. The type of specifications I am looking for are: a fan performance curve (head v. flowrate, power v. flowrate), fan efficiency, pressure drop created by the fan, mass flow rate of the fan, maximum back pressure before fan stall.

I tried calling the manufacturers of the fans but they don't seem to have any information about it. Ideally a fan performance curve would be all that I require, or the characteristics of the fan's "sweet spot."

ANY help that ANYONE can give is much appreciated. I will be working on this project until May (when it should be completed) and will be more than happy to keep you guys updated and provide any engineering support I can.
jwhensley is offline Find More Posts by jwhensley
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 01, 2008, 03:30 PM
Joined May 2004
157 Posts