New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jul 11, 2013, 07:26 AM
bobepine is online now
Find More Posts by bobepine
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
9,238 Posts
Fail safe with kk2 falls on rx and tx setup. Can be programmed with most of them.

Best,
Chris
bobepine is online now Find More Posts by bobepine
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 11, 2013, 09:39 AM
kronblom is online now
Find More Posts by kronblom
Registered User
Sweden, Gothenburg
Joined Jun 2012
579 Posts
Reminds me that I should set the failsafe on my frsky rx. What do you set it to? Zero throttle would result it falling hard, but I guess it is hard to set a slow landing failsafe on a quad.
kronblom is online now Find More Posts by kronblom
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 09:53 AM
Oso Grande is offline
Find More Posts by Oso Grande
Need more props..........
Oso Grande's Avatar
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2013
2,339 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kronblom View Post
Reminds me that I should set the failsafe on my frsky rx. What do you set it to? Zero throttle would result it falling hard, but I guess it is hard to set a slow landing failsafe on a quad.
I set mine to zero throttle with my KK2 boards. I figure it'll crash anyway but at least it won't have spinning props in case someone finds it before I do. I also have a lost model beeper that gets triggered at failsafe. Makes it easier to locate in thicker brush.
Oso Grande is offline Find More Posts by Oso Grande
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 10:26 AM
ecks is offline
Find More Posts by ecks
Knowledge prevents flyaways
ecks's Avatar
Sweden, Gothenburg
Joined Oct 2012
3,360 Posts
Can someone explain how to do this, dont undestand how the receiver can react to a failsafe if the transmitter is dead, does the rx have memory?
ecks is offline Find More Posts by ecks
RCG Plus Member
Old Jul 11, 2013, 11:17 AM
zestyzsauce is offline
Find More Posts by zestyzsauce
When in doubt throttle out
zestyzsauce's Avatar
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Nov 2012
745 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecks View Post
Can someone explain how to do this, dont undestand how the receiver can react to a failsafe if the transmitter is dead, does the rx have memory?
yeah I had to figure out what PPM and UART were, here is my research...
its really hard to google these acronyms and get a clear answer...

UART - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Univer...er/transmitter
PPM - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pulse-position_modulation

another good resource

http://wiki.openpilot.org/display/Do...vos-Modulation
zestyzsauce is offline Find More Posts by zestyzsauce
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 11:28 AM
bobepine is online now
Find More Posts by bobepine
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
9,238 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso Grande View Post
I set mine to zero throttle with my KK2 boards. I figure it'll crash anyway but at least it won't have spinning props in case someone finds it before I do. I also have a lost model beeper that gets triggered at failsafe. Makes it easier to locate in thicker brush.

I set mine to 0% throttle as well. Sure it falls down, but this is likely going to damage the frame. if you set it to a certain throttle it will not stop until you recover the quad or until the battery dies, Wherever it falls, if props rotation is restricted, the motors will heat up and may end up faulting your FC and burning both motors and ESCs.

Best to let the quad fall down and sort it out from there, IMO.

Best,
Chris
bobepine is online now Find More Posts by bobepine
RCG Plus Member
Old Jul 11, 2013, 11:47 AM
cyberbillp is offline
Find More Posts by cyberbillp
Registered User
cyberbillp's Avatar
United States, FL, Melbourne
Joined Mar 2012
1,615 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecks View Post
Can someone explain how to do this, dont undestand how the receiver can react to a failsafe if the transmitter is dead, does the rx have memory?
It does actually. But not all of them. My flysky, just maintains current settings hoping it gets a signal again (flies away forever). It's all in the RX though. My TX (9x) has the fail safe menu, but I think only the 3 channel RX accepts failsafe settings.

Multiwii has it's own fail safe I think.

Personally, I've never messed with any of it, though I should.
cyberbillp is offline Find More Posts by cyberbillp
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 11:50 AM
Oso Grande is offline
Find More Posts by Oso Grande
Need more props..........
Oso Grande's Avatar
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2013
2,339 Posts
I'm still using my dragon link and it's got its own failsafe. You just set the controls as you want them to failsafe to and hold the button on the DL for about 2 seconds and release.
Oso Grande is offline Find More Posts by Oso Grande
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 12:22 PM
rallie_86 is offline
Find More Posts by rallie_86
Registered User
rallie_86's Avatar
Sweden, Västmanland County, Västerås
Joined Jun 2013
196 Posts
Just got a nice package earlier today
And, i already know how to change props. The hard way.. Lol
rallie_86 is offline Find More Posts by rallie_86
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 12:36 PM
nate25j is offline
Find More Posts by nate25j
Quad On!!
nate25j's Avatar
United States, AL, Auburn
Joined Dec 2012
1,190 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rallie_86 View Post
Just got a nice package earlier today
And, i already know how to change props. The hard way.. Lol
That's very nice! The really like that color combo for the frame. Jealous face! lol I want one!
nate25j is offline Find More Posts by nate25j
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 03:01 PM
Oso Grande is offline
Find More Posts by Oso Grande
Need more props..........
Oso Grande's Avatar
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Jan 2013
2,339 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rallie_86 View Post
Just got a nice package earlier today
And, i already know how to change props. The hard way.. Lol
The hard way..........

You mean the FUN way!!!
Oso Grande is offline Find More Posts by Oso Grande
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 03:41 PM
Simson is offline
Find More Posts by Simson
Registered User
Simson's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Sankt Augustin
Joined May 2013
18 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberbillp View Post
Wonder where he got that bubble on top?
Actually I´ve cutted this out of a packaging from a microphone.
- One man's trash is another man's treasure. -


Quote:
Originally Posted by cruiser73 View Post
Hey Harry. Was this in acro mode?
Yes, just with Gyro in Acro Mode. Stick Scaling is on all channels at 160
Simson is offline Find More Posts by Simson
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 10:09 PM
turbored21 is offline
Find More Posts by turbored21
Registered User
USA, WV, Moundsville
Joined Oct 2006
2,789 Posts
well had my first break with the ecks lol..... came down hard on the corner "motor mount area" and broke it off right in the center of the hole lol..... needless to say its plywood so some 6 minute epoxy and all is well :-)

tim
turbored21 is offline Find More Posts by turbored21
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 10:14 PM
Razzure is offline
Find More Posts by Razzure
Registered User
Razzure's Avatar
United States, OH, North Canton
Joined Feb 2013
78 Posts
Simson - from what I could see of your video, looks like a really nice build. Wish I could watch the rest, but it just won't load well. I tried several times. I was thinking about investing in some prop savers. I seem to replace at least a couple props a week right now. My last crash broke 3. Should finally be getting some video this weekend.
Razzure is offline Find More Posts by Razzure
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2013, 01:00 AM
ecks is offline
Find More Posts by ecks
Knowledge prevents flyaways
ecks's Avatar
Sweden, Gothenburg
Joined Oct 2012
3,360 Posts
I'm loving the fact that these frames can just be glued back together

That hole next to the motor was a bit of a problem, I have since shrunken/shrinked/shranked? that hole
ecks is offline Find More Posts by ecks
RCG Plus Member


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale MK ESCs (x8) V2.0 + MK FltCtl 2.1 ME + Droidworx octo frame V2 + Axi 2217 (x8) DanWalker.AK Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Aug 13, 2014 05:23 AM
Discussion HBFP Mk.I (v1) Frame and Boom Upgrade - V2 frame or King 2/3 Frame? rawfuls Micro Helis 1 Feb 21, 2011 06:07 PM
Discussion Trex 450 SE V2 frame vs. HDX 450 SE V3 G10 frame (super frame) richord Mini Helis 1 Apr 02, 2009 11:11 PM