SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 31, 2012, 09:00 AM
Joined Dec 2012
7 Posts
Help!
Used Stinson or new T-38 Trojan?

I'm a newbie who's spent a little bit of time flying heli's and been spending alot of time on the simulator. I have an opportunity to get my hands on a Stinson in good shape for $100, but at the same time I've been told the T-38 Trojan is a good beginner plane. I'd prefer to stick with a 4 channel. Any suggestions?

Greg
hyp05fxdl is offline Find More Posts by hyp05fxdl
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:32 AM
United States, CA, Oceanside
Joined Apr 2011
4,855 Posts
What kind of helis, how much time on the sim? I would opt for the Trojan, but I would also get a highwing trainer before I attempted the T-28. Problem is, warbirds can be twitchy and yes, the Trojan is a trainer aircraft, but it's still a warbird and will have to be flown like one. The Stinson is a nice plane too and I fly with people that fly one. However, landing it is difficult and I have seen seasoned warbird pilots botch landings on the Stinson. Spend the 90 bucks and get a Hobbyzone Champ, fly that for a while and then try which ever plane you decide to get.
chucksolo69 is online now Find More Posts by chucksolo69
Old Jan 01, 2013, 12:47 AM
Portland, OR
Joined May 2010
168 Posts
T-28 Trojan is much easier to fly than the Stinson. Trust me and others who say the same thing. I had a Stinson and she didnt last long for me. I crashed her twice due to getting too slow on final approach. The T-28 was a huge confidence builder in flying a 4 channel airplane. I have had her for 1.5 yrs now and logged 121 crash free flights.
davidrd is offline Find More Posts by davidrd
Old Jan 01, 2013, 11:25 AM
buyer of the farm
United States, FL, DeLand
Joined Mar 2009
4,136 Posts