SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 06, 2009, 04:14 PM
Registered User
rc_sportpilot's Avatar
See Latitude & Longitude
Joined Feb 2005
2 Posts
Discussion
Realflight G5 CPU Compatibility Issue

I just received my G5 upgrade from Tower Hobbies this week. I cannot install this on my CPU. Searching the real flight discussion boards I found the following CPU compatibility issue posted by Ryan Douglas:

The following CPUs are affected:
Intel Pentium III or older
AMD Athlon (650 MHz 1400 MHz)
AMD Athlon XP (1500+ 3200+)
AMD Duron (600 MHz 1800 MHz)
AMD Sempron (2000+ 3300+)
AMD Athlon MP (1000 MHz 3000+)
AMD Geode NX (667 MHz 2200 MHz)

If you have these CPUs, G5 will not install. They are working the issue, but there is no work around. Buyer beware.
rc_sportpilot is offline Find More Posts by rc_sportpilot
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 06, 2009, 04:23 PM
Administrator
jbourke's Avatar
United States, OR, Corvallis
Joined Nov 1998
5,409 Posts
Just an update, KE has the fix, but hasn't released it yet as it is still in testing.

Our apologies for the error.

Jim
jbourke is offline Find More Posts by jbourke
Administrator
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2009, 06:22 PM
Registered User
petermac40's Avatar
Yardley, PA USA
Joined Oct 2004
86 Posts
asd
petermac40 is offline Find More Posts by petermac40
Last edited by petermac40; Nov 07, 2009 at 08:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2009, 06:44 PM
Registered User
rc_sportpilot's Avatar
See Latitude & Longitude
Joined Feb 2005
2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbourke View Post
Just an update, KE has the fix, but hasn't released it yet as it is still in testing.

Our apologies for the error.

Jim
Many thanks KE for the quick response and fix. I look forward to the patch.
rc_sportpilot is offline Find More Posts by rc_sportpilot
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 06, 2009, 07:36 PM
Lou
Registered User
United States, VA, Waynesboro
Joined Dec 2005
5,478 Posts
Quote:
The following CPUs are affected:
Intel Pentium III or older
AMD Athlon (650 MHz – 1400 MHz)
AMD Athlon XP (1500+ – 3200+)
AMD Duron (600 MHz – 1800 MHz)
AMD Sempron (2000+ – 3300+)
AMD Athlon MP (1000 MHz – 3000+)
AMD Geode NX (667 MHz – 2200 MHz)

If you have these CPUs, G5 will not install. They are working the issue, but there is no work around. Buyer beware.
Never would of though G5 would even run on a PIII.
Lou is offline Find More Posts by Lou
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 07, 2009, 01:49 AM
Registered User
SteveM732's Avatar
United States, OR, Beaverton
Joined Feb 2008
1,976 Posts
Thanks for the tip, I have two systems with CPUs on that list. For now I'm still running G4.5, but there's no point in me rushing out to get G5 till they get the wrinkles ironed out. Of course what I really need is a better computer.
SteveM732 is offline Find More Posts by SteveM732
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2009, 12:22 PM
Addicted to RC
YarSmythe's Avatar
USA, TX, Houston
Joined Nov 2003
2,741 Posts
I'll be running G5 on my Dell laptop powered by Intel. However, I own three desktop systems all running AMD processors. It's sad to see that they released the software with an obvious disregard to AMD users (and shareholders) out there. Let's hope they fix it soon.

Ordered my G5 Upgrade yesterday. Looking forward to giving it a try ... and so are my boys!

-Lee
YarSmythe is offline Find More Posts by YarSmythe
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2009, 01:42 PM
Addicted to RC
YarSmythe's Avatar
USA, TX, Houston
Joined Nov 2003
2,741 Posts
G5 arrived today. Installed it on my Dell XPS laptop running Windows 7. Installation went smoothly. I guess my processor isn't powerful enough 'cause the program runs a bit choppy but not too bad. Overall, I don't see a huge difference between 3.5 and 5. I feel that the realism is better, especially on landings and take-offs. I probably need another few hours on it before it grows on me. For $80 (upgrade), it's a fair deal. If you are running a faster system, I bet it's really nice.
YarSmythe is offline Find More Posts by YarSmythe
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2009, 04:54 PM
Lou
Registered User
United States, VA, Waynesboro
Joined Dec 2005
5,478 Posts
....
Lou is offline Find More Posts by Lou
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Lou; Nov 22, 2009 at 11:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion COMBAT in RealFlight G5! Skaluf Combat Fuel Planes 9 Nov 19, 2009 11:39 AM
Alert What will this turn FPV to...RealFlight G5 DarkHeli FPV Talk 11 Oct 20, 2009 09:05 AM
Discussion Dimension engineering BEC / Castle ESC compatibility issue FLDewey Power Systems 5 Aug 21, 2009 03:20 PM
Discussion Crystal compatibility issue? Sunfire Radios 3 Oct 03, 2007 01:59 PM
Compatibility issue with E-Flite 20amp ESC and Ultrafly D/13/32 Brushless motor! Ralph_D Parkflyers 5 May 07, 2005 04:17 PM