HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 24, 2014, 11:58 AM
United States, CA, San Marcos
Joined Dec 2011
53 Posts
Discussion
RTF or better radio with BNF plane?

Merry Christmas to all.

I have been reading through many of the forums here trying to get the best information to begin flying. I am a complete beginner (using iPad/iPhone sims only).

Is it wise to just go with a RTF model first or to buy a used DX6 or 6i with a BNF a plane? I was hoping to find a used radio and Champ without transmitter. My concern is that the RTF transmitted with the Champ or Sport Cub S isn't up to snuff. Also, does it make more financial sense to get the better radio at the beginning? I am looking to see how you decided when you first began.

Thanks!
phdrc is offline Find More Posts by phdrc
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 24, 2014, 12:11 PM
Y=C+I+G
United States, CA, Rosemead
Joined Jan 2012
9,544 Posts
the micro RTF transmitters are fine as long as you don't fly too far. if it were Dx4e/5e vs Dx6i, i'd tell you to wait. but since you're comparing the micro RTF radios to a full range Dx6i, then i suggest you get the Dx6i.
cmdl is offline Find More Posts by cmdl
Old Dec 24, 2014, 12:15 PM
TEAM HILLBILLY
United States, MN, Fairmont
Joined May 2013
3,254 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by phdrc View Post
Merry Christmas to all.

I have been reading through many of the forums here trying to get the best information to begin flying. I am a complete beginner (using iPad/iPhone sims only).

Is it wise to just go with a RTF model first or to buy a used DX6 or 6i with a BNF a plane? I was hoping to find a used radio and Champ without transmitter. My concern is that the RTF transmitted with the Champ or Sport Cub S isn't up to snuff. Also, does it make more financial sense to get the better radio at the beginning? I am looking to see how you decided when you first began.

Thanks!