HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 30, 2013, 10:51 PM
RC Basher
United States, NJ, Union
Joined Sep 2012
37 Posts
DX6i or Futaba 6EX

I recently picked up a basically new helimax 400 rtf which came with a Futaba 6EX. I've only flown a blade cx so far so after speaking to a friend who is more well versed in heli, he advised me to not fly the 400 as I'm not experienced enough. I just recently picked up a used dx6i because I planned on picking up an mcpx to gain some experience. Now I want some advise on whether I should keep both transmitters or sell the 6ex and reciever and pick up a spektrum receiver for when I'm ready to fly the 400.
Jersey Crewmax is offline Find More Posts by Jersey Crewmax
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 01, 2013, 08:23 PM
Minnesota
Joined Jun 2007
1,916 Posts
I have owned a DX6i and a Futaba 6EXP (very similiar to the 6EX, only not 2.4) I have only used them in planes though.

In my opinion I would get a rx for the DX6i. Out of the radios Ive ever owned (not many, but a few) and used, it was by far my favorite. The programming was very easy for me to use. The feel while flying was my favorite.

You can get DSM2 receivers for very cheap on hobbyking.com. I wish these would have been out before I left the hobby and sold my TX. From what Ive read, they seem to be very good.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Receiver.html

They also have the Futaba Fasst rx here to but it is more expensive.

Another point is the parkzone BNF micros. I had the originial Vapor when I got my DX6i. Binding took seconds and I was up in the air flying. It was nice for me because I felt more like flying RC with a high end TX, rather than the little radio the vapor came with.

May I also recommend keeping them both? They are arguably the two best 6ch TXs out there, and even though I prefered the DX6i, I liked my futaba very much. Having a spare TX seems to be nice for some people (I have never owned more than one at a time)