Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jan 03, 2007, 06:53 PM
If it floats....sail it!
Elk Grove, CA
Joined Sep 2002
4,086 Posts
Question
Lipo Burst Values & Long Life?

I have been using lipos for about 3 years now and follow the input of EveryDayFlyer (Charles), RD, Dr. Kiwi, and Rod, and I have developed my own protocols for using lipos in my "normal" planes by taking their advise. By normal planes I mean planes that are under some form of power almost all of the time - say 40%-75% throttle with limited bursts of WOT. I do all the standard stuff to take care of my packs: prop only up to 80% C max continuous discharge rate, charge only when the cells are at ambient, balance on each charge, LVC 3.1V/cell, etc.

I have now added a powered sail plane to my hanger, where the load profile on the cells is very different from my other planes. My latest addition (Thank you Santa) is a Hyper 2 meter sailplane at about 22oz AUW (inc pack) with a Hacker B20-15L in a 4:1 gb and a Graupner 10x8 folding prop.

The pack suggested by NES is a 3S1P TP-1320 PL. With the power package above it draws about 12A - 18A in flight for 20 seconds or less with at least 5 - 10 minutes between bursts - plenty of time to cool down. After the last glide down I have checked the pack temp and it is at ambient or just a few degrees warmer. This pack is advertised by Thunder Power as capable of 13C (17A) continuous and 20C (27A) burst, but we all know about manufactures' ratings.

Am I stressing this pack too much and how do I tell? How does one size a pack for this kind of use to get reasonably long pack life?

FC
FoamCrusher is offline Find More Posts by FoamCrusher
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 03, 2007, 07:34 PM
Southern Pride
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,548 Posts
According to RD's 15C and 20C burst here

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...64&postcount=1

it would appear that the temp. should stay below 130F.