Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Aug 31, 2012, 12:19 AM
Joined Aug 2012
19 Posts
Discussion
first time builders questions

Hello im new to building foam planes and have built 2 but they won't fly i was wondering how do i weigh my plane? And how can i tell if have good trust? thanks for any help :-)
superpig is offline Find More Posts by superpig
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 31, 2012, 12:49 AM
Fremont, CA
United States, CA, Fremont
Joined Jan 2009
1,612 Posts
Any pictures of your planes?
djacob7 is offline Find More Posts by djacob7
Old Aug 31, 2012, 01:12 AM
Joined Aug 2012
19 Posts
Ill post up my p40 and cub i built tomorrow. I love building them i just can't get them to fly but i can fly all my parkzone planes fine so i don't know what im building them wrong.
Old Aug 31, 2012, 07:21 AM
PowerTower
United Kingdom, England, Bristol
Joined Aug 2009
977 Posts
Yes... pics first, answers second
Don't forget to add some detail like building material and electrics used.
RWData is online now Find More Posts by RWData
Old Aug 31, 2012, 08:13 AM
low tech high tech
Southern Vermont
Joined Feb 2007
3,028 Posts
You can weigh a plane even if you don't have a scale.

(To the inevitable commenters who would normally follow a post like this with "Or get a get a Harbor Freight digital scale for ten bucks." Beat you to it. Yes you can buy your way out of any lack of tool problem, more or less -- the following is about thinking your way out.)

Place the plane on one end of a ruler or yardstick with a fulcrum under it (a thick dowel or D-cell battery lying on a table for instance).

Temporarily attach a disposable thin plastic or paper cup to the ruler, past the fulcrum with, say, some dots of hot glue.

Gradually add water to the cup until the plane balances more or less at the other end. You may need to put the fulcrum either closer or farther from the plane to get things to work out.