Old Jul 09, 2015, 12:32 PM
Find More Posts by beecat
Getting Ahead of Himself
United States, AR, Little Rock
Joined Mar 2015
73 Posts
Discussion
Elevons with poor pitch control

I'm a novice builder, and I seem to have a recurring problem. That problem is that my delta-style planes with elevons don't have much pitch authority.

I'm mostly concerned with my most recent build. It's not the best design, as I think the airfoil is too steep on the leading edge, but it flies decently. I also had to add a whole lot of weight to the nose to get it balanced (almost 12oz). I think my control surfaces are sufficient, as it has extremely fast roll rates (see attached photo).

I can't get it to loop, though.

Any ideas?
beecat is offline Find More Posts by beecat
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 09, 2015, 12:52 PM
Find More Posts by balsa or carbon
Hot glue held together by foam
United States, WA, Vancouver
Joined Aug 2010
4,089 Posts
I don't know what you can do for the delta in the photo - but if you were to make a new airframe , try making the elevons larger . And moving the motor forward ( either on the nose as a tractor , or in a slot at about 30% - 40% ) so you won't have to add dead weight to get a good CG balance . It also looks like your motor is small ( under-powered? ) relative to the airframe size .

Here is my design for a delta ( Simplest Simple Delta ) , will roll and loop all day long :
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2145562

This video is of an SSD built recently by Marblekit here on RCG :

Red Dragon "On Steroids" (2 min 19 sec)
balsa or carbon is offline Find More Posts by balsa or carbon
Old Jul 09, 2015, 01:05 PM
Find More Posts by kcolraw
Kcolraw
United States, NC, Asheville
Joined Feb 2015
412 Posts