HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 05, 2012, 08:06 AM
United States, WI, Madison
Joined Oct 2008
19 Posts
Question
First Engine?

Hello! I'm in the process of building my first plane, a Sig Kadet Senior. It is getting to be about time to start the search for an engine.

I have zero experience with a glow engines and was wondering which would be the better choice? two stroke or four stroke? I've read maintenance is simpler with a two stroke, but that they are rather noisy. I like the idea of a four stroke in the .50s range.

I'm building the plane according to plans as a 3 channel trainer and don't foresee any crazy antics with it. Just something to learn on before my next plane.

Any advice/opinions you all have would be great. Thanks!
Deuce5150 is offline Find More Posts by Deuce5150
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 05, 2012, 11:46 AM
LaGrange, GA
Joined Jun 2009
1,818 Posts
If you've never dealt with glow engines at all, I'd recommend the OS 46LA or the Thunder Tiger GP-42. Both are easy to start and easy to tune and will give you years of reliable use with very little maintenance. They both run about $85. A lot of folks will tell you to "buy a ball bearing engine because they have a lot more power"..... you just don't need it with that plane. Then they'll tell you, "....but when you want to put it on another plane....." Unless you shred your Kadet, you'll keep that plane as long as you're in the hobby on days when you want some calm, relaxing flying. If you do decide to sell it at some point, there's no point in selling it with an engine that costs $50 more in it for someone to putt-putt around the sky with.... just my opinion and we know what those are worth. Good luck with it!

Pat
JohnsPop is offline Find More Posts by JohnsPop
Old Sep 05, 2012, 12:19 PM
team sleprock
United States, WA, Port Angeles
Joined Dec 2009
3,544 Posts
the engines recomended above would do!