HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 12, 2012, 01:42 AM
Croatia, City of Zagreb, Zagreb
Joined Apr 2012
23 Posts
Discussion
Setup for Techone Butterfly 3d

Hi,
im new in 3d flying and for my first model chose Butterfly 3d. In the meantime, while waiting for it to arrive, i asked to advise on the setup for it.
gradjanin is offline Find More Posts by gradjanin
to remove ads between posts
Old May 12, 2012, 12:25 PM
Rocket Programmer
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Jul 2007
25,460 Posts
The Butterfly is a trainer, not a 3D plane?

This one, right? http://www.techonehobby.com/proview.asp?id=170

Or this one, that is discontinued? http://www.techonehobby.com/proview.asp?id=164

You will have to look at the plane before you set it up. The rule with 3D is "MAX everything" - so if you can 50-60 degrees of throw on every surface that is great, but some airframes don't allow that so you'll just have to look at it first. My Tech-one Yak-54 only allows about 45 degrees on the ailerons - it's just a limitation of the design.

Balance is critical, as is alignment - don't glue anything until you've measured it 5 times and make sure it's perfectly straight. The motor mounts on these leave a little to be desired - if you can work in a little right-thrust, do it. Get the CG exactly right - you'll need to fly to figure this out. If the plane can fly inverted and upright in level flight at about half throttle with no elevator input, then it's tail-heavy enough
jasmine2501 is offline Find More Posts by jasmine2501
Old May 14, 2012, 10:23 AM
Croatia, City of Zagreb, Zagreb
Joined Apr 2012
23 Posts
thx jasmine.
plane is 2nd,dicontinued model,but i think,enough4me..this is my 1st 3d plane and just it arive to me..nice looking but i see one dissapointed thing, place between fuselage and main wing is too big and have about 2mm gap...hmm

but like i say, nice model, very light and everything exept this gap is good assembled.