HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 07, 2007, 09:31 PM
Ozzie Express wiggy pilot
SON OF PALEFACE's Avatar
YANKALILLA , SOUTH AUSTRALIA.
Joined Nov 2002
5,234 Posts
Discussion
Canon G9

Anyone using the Canon G9.....thoughts ??
SON OF PALEFACE is offline Find More Posts by SON OF PALEFACE
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 08, 2007, 01:50 AM
Registered User
zakstang's Avatar
Joined May 2005
794 Posts
i was considering it but its just a tad heavier than i want for my Slow stick
zakstang is offline Find More Posts by zakstang
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2007, 05:56 AM
Registered User
Harm Botman's Avatar
Hillegom, Netherlands
Joined Sep 2001
564 Posts
Considering it's price I would go for the Ricoh GX 100 ( http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/ricohgx100/ ) which has a very good 24mm, weighs 250 grams (G9 350 gr) and has an interval timer among other nice things for AP.
Harm Botman is offline Find More Posts by Harm Botman
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2007, 06:57 AM
Supersonic Engineering
GordonTarling's Avatar
UK, Greater London, Uxbridge
Joined Mar 2001
3,088 Posts
I was looking at buying the G9 or the G7, but decided that a wider angle lens would suit my purposes better and bought an S80 instead!
GordonTarling is offline Find More Posts by GordonTarling
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2007, 08:59 PM
Yes, It will fly!
SugarLandFlyer's Avatar
Sugar Land
Joined Dec 2005
245 Posts
I have the G9 for use with my T-Rex 600 and I love it so far. 12.1 megapixel sure does make for a nice picture.
SugarLandFlyer is offline Find More Posts by SugarLandFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2007, 12:59 AM
Whadda YOU lookin' at?
CactusJackSlade's Avatar
Folsom, CA
Joined May 2002
2,516 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GordonTarling
I was looking at buying the G9 or the G7, but decided that a wider angle lens would suit my purposes better and bought an S80 instead!
Been using my S80 for over a year now... I keep looking for "better" but have not seen anything to make me want to change... although I still look...

CJS
rcaerialphoto.com
CactusJackSlade is offline Find More Posts by CactusJackSlade
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2007, 12:28 PM
Registered User
TStokes's Avatar
Phoenix
Joined Mar 2003
859 Posts
Gordon, CSJ, I just bought an S80 on EBay. I was thinking of trying to supply external power so I could fly without the camera battery. Castle Creations now makes a programmable switching power supply that I would use for power.

I've done this with an A620 - used a radio shack connector - and it worked fine.

Do either of you have experience running the S80 with external power?

Tom
TStokes is offline Find More Posts by TStokes
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2007, 12:48 PM
Supersonic Engineering
GordonTarling's Avatar
UK, Greater London, Uxbridge
Joined Mar 2001
3,088 Posts
Cactus - My choice of S80 was partly determined by your posts here - I just like the thought of a wider lens than the now fairly standard 35mm.

Tom - My S80 just arrived today, so I may not the best one to advise on this! I assume you are planning to power the camera via the mini-USB connector? I just tried mine like this and it will only show photos for review and won't go into picture-taking mode, so it looks like you're stuck with battery power unless you can find some way to connect into the camera's battery contacts.
GordonTarling is offline Find More Posts by GordonTarling
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2007, 01:32 PM
Registered User
TStokes's Avatar
Phoenix
Joined Mar 2003
859 Posts
Gordon, I see AC adapters for sale for the S80:

http://www.gpstore.co.nz/Hardware/1537009.html

From this, I had assumed it was possible to power it externally. I cannot see the connector on this adapter too well.

Tom
TStokes is offline Find More Posts by TStokes
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2007, 12:31 AM
Whadda YOU lookin' at?
CactusJackSlade's Avatar
Folsom, CA
Joined May 2002
2,516 Posts
ALllthough the S80 a bit heavy, the photos have never dissapointed me, I have the largest percentage of "keepers" than any other camera previously.

I set mine up on "P" mode, decrease the exposure by 1/3 stop, go into the menu and up the color (vivid setting I think) and set the speed at 400 or so. I let the camera set the aperature.

You will never regret the 28mm wide...

Good luck!

CJS
CactusJackSlade is offline Find More Posts by CactusJackSlade
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 12:46 PM
Registered User
Latvia
Joined Oct 2006
312 Posts
G9 has converter to wide angle. But its costly.
I think myself of getting G9...seems to be good camera.
Guntars is offline Find More Posts by Guntars
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2007, 02:04 PM
Ozzie Express wiggy pilot
SON OF PALEFACE's Avatar
YANKALILLA , SOUTH AUSTRALIA.
Joined Nov 2002
5,234 Posts
Ok , looks like I,m going to get one , I have a large 'Liberty' , to haul it skywards
SON OF PALEFACE is offline Find More Posts by SON OF PALEFACE
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2007, 07:10 AM
.0002 Spoken Here
Parts Maker's Avatar
Maple lake, Minnesota, USA
Joined Sep 2004
32 Posts
Great photos, Video has issues

Be sure you can get along with the video. The compression is not like MPEG 4
My Casio was getting 30 minutes from a one Gig card at 30 frames a second and 640X480. For some reason, my G-9 only last 7 minutes. And I don't see a whole lot of difference in the movie quality.
Even at the lowest setting, with a 4 GB card, you can get 1 hour out of it.
So if you burn a high quality movie onto a disk, you won't get more than 5 minutes on it.
For photos, Pretty hard to beat. John
Parts Maker is offline Find More Posts by Parts Maker
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2007, 12:25 PM
Registered User
Latvia
Joined Oct 2006
312 Posts
Parts Maker, what platform do you use for camera of 300 grams? Plane/Heli?
Guntars is offline Find More Posts by Guntars
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Canon G9 or A650 users... aramsdell Aerial Photography 0 Oct 26, 2007 10:21 PM