HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 01, 2013, 03:38 PM
Still flying a desk..
ChilternFlyer's Avatar
United Kingdom, High Wycombe
Joined Sep 2001
2,151 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudlark View Post
Yep need to make me a new cable as the gopro one got cut by the QAV props.
oops

What's that funny noise coming from your QAV?
Dunno but it still flies OK.....

5 minutes later:
Ah! I know what the noise was now

ChilternFlyer is offline Find More Posts by ChilternFlyer
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 01, 2013, 03:40 PM
Happy Days
mudlark's Avatar
United Kingdom, High Wycombe
Joined Mar 2001
4,260 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChilternFlyer View Post
What's that funny noise coming from your QAV?
Dunno but it still flies OK.....

5 minutes later:
Ah! I know what the noise was now

That sounds about right
mudlark is online now Find More Posts by mudlark
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 04:05 PM
um, yea, I can make that crash
Wayno Complaino's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Milton Keynes
Joined Aug 2011
2,682 Posts
2nd GoPro FYI: the UK importer Madison Cycles just swap out faulty units. Even GoPro direct don't do that. The UK protects customers quite well sometimes
Wayno Complaino is online now Find More Posts by Wayno Complaino
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 05:29 PM
Houba ! Houba !!
rcmonster99's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Milton Keynes
Joined Sep 2003
6,270 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by StealthWorkx View Post
I ordered 2 black go3's from rc4y just before Xmas. Came by dhl and were delivered 28th dec. Martin gave me the link and ordered one himself.
Was flying with him on Sunday testing them out. No probs. pictures fine etc. miss match in firmware but its actually better for Fpv than the firmware that ships with genuine units as it shifts the osd data into the top area (you'll know what I mean if you fly off it)
Yeah there's no serial numbers on them so they must be qc rejects or sommin?
I paid rc4y with PayPal so figured if it was a scam I could claim back through pp
Interesting, so they are a genuine shop and they seem to have a relatively good service ?
rcmonster99 is online now Find More Posts by rcmonster99
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 08:18 PM
Still flying a desk..
ChilternFlyer's Avatar
United Kingdom, High Wycombe
Joined Sep 2001
2,151 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcmonster99 View Post
Interesting, so they are a genuine shop and they seem to have a relatively good service ?
Oh Dear
You guys are far too trusting!
RC4y is an online shop in china that uses RCG classifieds to try and sell it's stuff. This is not in the spirit of the classifieds as they are clearly a business (I still can't understand why they haven't been suspended). Some time earlier this year they even got one of the girls in their office to sign up on RCG and make out that she found this 'great deal' on this 'website'. (She has now disappeared off the classifieds).
31 posts (most of them were Ad's in the classifieds section) RC4y still has a -1 trader feedback.

Maybe Owen got lucky. I've followed RC4y for some time and as far as I'm concerned you may as well be buying a brick with a go pro badge on it. Despite being asked many times; RC4y has still not answered any questions about warranty.

Please take time to read this thread:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...highlight=rc4i
ChilternFlyer is offline Find More Posts by ChilternFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2013, 08:42 PM
Cable ties & ductape
DodgeRC's Avatar
United Kingdom, Wilmslow
Joined May 2011
2,478 Posts
Don't laugh...its temporary until I get some new landing gear sorted =P

In other news KK2 Auto-level saved my butt again after I made the mistake of completely throttling off whilst in a decent...
Thing span around like mad till I pushed the stick up, levelled out in no time, and just drifted sideways for a bit =]
DodgeRC is offline Find More Posts by DodgeRC
Last edited by DodgeRC; Jan 02, 2013 at 04:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 04:52 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
1,262 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DodgeRC View Post
Don't laugh...its temporary until I get some new landing gear sorted =P
Always like to see a bit of innovation

- Going to be very prone to tipping over on spool up or landing though. Why not just use some cable ties (or gaffer tape ) to strap some extensions on to the existing legs? - Any old bit of stick will do
highviz is offline Find More Posts by highviz
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 05:02 AM
Cable ties & ductape
DodgeRC's Avatar
United Kingdom, Wilmslow
Joined May 2011
2,478 Posts
Cheers =]

Don't have anything at the moment, bar some carbon rod, which I am too cheap to use haha
Luckily the foam is flat on the bottom, so spooling up should be ok. As for landing....might take a cushion with me lol
DodgeRC is offline Find More Posts by DodgeRC
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 05:22 AM
Registered User
Upup's Avatar
Ilford,Essex, UK
Joined May 2006
1,977 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidneylopsides View Post
Thanks for the replies!

I was thinking something like the Turnigy micro quad frame, partly as I assume I can save money by not needing as much power.

I do like the idea of being able to sling my GH1 underneath, if I got a better, larger, framebot start with, would I be able to upgrade the power for that when I'm better at flying?

My idea has been Turnigy micro quad frame, 4x 10a esc, kk2 board and no idea what motors and props :-P


Edit: giantshark CF2805 2800kv brushless outrunner motors?

It, also a mate got (from comet clearance) an ion air pro camera, I might be using that for fpv, or at least trying.
I made this quad from 20 mm electrical conduit (very tough hit the ground and cartwheeled from 25 foot was fine apart from props) cheap motors from HK flies OK
Upup is offline Find More Posts by Upup
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 05:56 AM
If it flies.....I can crash it
blackbrabus's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Preston on Stour
Joined Nov 2011
2,902 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DodgeRC View Post
Don't laugh...its temporary until I get some new landing gear sorted =P

In other news KK2 Auto-level saved my butt again after I made the mistake of completely throttling off whilst in a decent...
Thing span around like mad till I pushed the stick up, levelled out in no time, and just drifted sideways for a bit =]
so if its not a silly question, why not mount the gopro high on a pan and tilt to get the lower angle.
blackbrabus is online now Find More Posts by blackbrabus
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 06:01 AM
When in doubt, throttle out...
badlands's Avatar
Joined Mar 2010
1,652 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcmonster99 View Post
Interesting, so they are a genuine shop and they seem to have a relatively good service ?
Yea as Owen said i got my RC4y gp3 shipped via DHL in a few days.
It has a tiny mark inside the lens (not on the glass) & doesnt have a
S/N.
Ive tested it & it records perfectly, no lock ups & i fly from it too.

I think its a very good deal & they have at least 2 happy customers!


Happy New Year 2 u all 2!
badlands is online now Find More Posts by badlands
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 06:09 AM
Cable ties & ductape
DodgeRC's Avatar
United Kingdom, Wilmslow
Joined May 2011
2,478 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbrabus View Post
so if its not a silly question, why not mount the gopro high on a pan and tilt to get the lower angle.
Where abouts do you mean?
If its on top of the lower frame, it catches the props in shot,
DodgeRC is offline Find More Posts by DodgeRC
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 06:12 AM
If it flies.....I can crash it
blackbrabus's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Preston on Stour
Joined Nov 2011
2,902 Posts
thats exactly where I meant..... if it were me I think I would settle for the props in shot.
having it hanging down like that would make me nervous....but then I'm no pro at flying these things yet.
blackbrabus is online now Find More Posts by blackbrabus
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 06:17 AM
Cable ties & ductape
DodgeRC's Avatar
United Kingdom, Wilmslow
Joined May 2011
2,478 Posts
Ah ok, Yeh it fits snuggly there, but my main concern has been having the hard case on for now

Plus I want to use it for some nice aerial shots, so at some point it will be getting a tilt servo stuck on

I'm still learning at the moment too, but im fairly confident at landing slow and precise...touch wood =P
DodgeRC is offline Find More Posts by DodgeRC
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2013, 06:38 AM
Registered User
Leeds, UK
Joined Dec 2003
393 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upup View Post
I made this quad from 20 mm electrical conduit (very tough hit the ground and cartwheeled from 25 foot was fine apart from props) cheap motors from HK flies OK
That looks really good! I assume the frames are from b&q, what about the rest?
sidneylopsides is offline Find More Posts by sidneylopsides
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion FPV Car and Other Fun FPV Projects Thread: Crash9 FPV Talk 8961 Today 01:03 PM
Discussion UK to France FPV srjs FPV Talk 95 Oct 11, 2014 01:10 PM
Discussion can we have a uk section in the for sales thread please? kieran3008 Site Chat 28 Apr 17, 2014 03:13 PM
For Sale FPV Stuffs UK QUIKSILVER Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 16 Dec 24, 2010 10:16 AM
Discussion FPV WARS (Thread for FPV "B" Movies) ch1 FPV Talk 8 Sep 16, 2009 06:37 PM