HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 26, 2013, 04:44 PM
RC Newbie
United States, OR, Gresham
Joined Mar 2013
53 Posts
Question
NiMH or LiPo batteries?

I am purchasing the Vaterra Kalahari truck and it comes with a 7.1V 1200NiMH battery. The website seems to indicate that you can also use a 3S 11.1V LiPo. What I don't understand is if you can simply plug in the LiPo to the car or if there needs to be some other adapter or something you have to change out.

Our batteries universal like that??

I am a noob to the sport. This will be my first car. But I have 11.V 3S LiPos from my RC planes I am hoping i can use..

Thanks in advance
Kalion is offline Find More Posts by Kalion
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 26, 2013, 05:01 PM
Did you check the FAQ already?
The Netherlands
Joined Jul 2010
12,911 Posts
The battery type doesn't dictate the type of connector. You can get a lipo with the same connector as an NiMh.

Whether your planes' lipos will fit, both for size and for the connector, remains to be seen. Does Vaterre not have some data about the recommended 3S lipo for that car? Or a picture of it? That way you can see what connector it uses, and look at the specs what the dimensions are.
SoloProFan is online now Find More Posts by SoloProFan
Old Mar 26, 2013, 05:08 PM
RC Newbie
Joined Mar 2013
53 Posts
This is one of the LiPo options on the Vatarra website:
http://www.vaterrarc.com/Products/De...ProdID=DYN1477

It is an ECS power connector which matches what I have on my existing LiPo's, so I guess I am good!
Existing Batteries used for my planes: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoloProFan View Post
The battery type doesn't dictate the type of connector. You can get a lipo with the same connector as an NiMh.