HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 13, 2014, 11:07 AM
Chop it, cut it, bash it
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
United States, CA, La Caņada Flintridge
Joined Jul 2011
5,402 Posts
Not to be a cynical, but flying behind trees is just asking for trouble. 2.4 ghz can be blocked by them. What frequency transmitter are you using?
quitcherbitchen is online now Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 13, 2014, 03:59 PM
Registered User
Lower Blue Mountains, Australia
Joined Jan 2006
337 Posts
Scherrer LRS. The fact that I got a failsafe is not the problem; I'm curious if there is someway I can force the RTH to climb before turning when a fail safe is triggered.

I reason I feel comfortable flying low amongst the trees is that I have a tried and tested RTH setup. I've never found myself in a situation where the initial banking in RTH has caused a problem until now. I guess it was just an unlucky place to be when it engaged, but it just seems like commonsense to have the RTH climb to clear any possible obstacles before changing course?
Dr. |2udie is offline Find More Posts by Dr. |2udie
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2014, 04:47 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Pleasanton
Joined Feb 2013
1,074 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. |2udie View Post
Scherrer LRS. The fact that I got a failsafe is not the problem; I'm curious if there is someway I can force the RTH to climb before turning when a fail safe is triggered.

I reason I feel comfortable flying low amongst the trees is that I have a tried and tested RTH setup. I've never found myself in a situation where the initial banking in RTH has caused a problem until now. I guess it was just an unlucky place to be when it engaged, but it just seems like commonsense to have the RTH climb to clear any possible obstacles before changing course?
If you're flying between trees, the odds are not much better that you'd avoid them by going straight all the way up to the cruise altitude before starting your turn.
Noircogi is online now Find More Posts by Noircogi
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2014, 01:56 AM
Registered User
Lower Blue Mountains, Australia
Joined Jan 2006
337 Posts
Except that you would only have to increase altitude by say 10m (unless you're talking hugely tall trees) to reach the safety of open sky, which I'm sure most models would accomplish in a couple of seconds. I guarantee that you would not have been flying on such a course that would allow you to crash into trees immediately ahead of you within those same couple of seconds if you gave no further inputs.
Take my case; had the plane climbed, it would have cleared the trees in about one second (that is, if I was even flying directly torwards).

Anyway, I gather by these responses that it's not possible to make this change in the RTH?
Dr. |2udie is offline Find More Posts by Dr. |2udie
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2014, 05:54 AM
Registered User
Canada, ON, Thunder Bay District
Joined Apr 2007
711 Posts
In my testing of RTH the plane turns as it climbs to RTH altitude if you're below or desends if you're above. But it always turns towards home right away. Eagle Tree would have to change this in the firmware and add the extra features.
Fast Guy is offline Find More Posts by Fast Guy
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2014, 11:58 AM
Registered User
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jan 2008
1,041 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. |2udie View Post
Except that you would only have to increase altitude by say 10m (unless you're talking hugely tall trees) to reach the safety of open sky, which I'm sure most models would accomplish in a couple of seconds. I guarantee that you would not have been flying on such a course that would allow you to crash into trees immediately ahead of you within those same couple of seconds if you gave no further inputs.
Take my case; had the plane climbed, it would have cleared the trees in about one second (that is, if I was even flying directly torwards).

Anyway, I gather by these responses that it's not possible to make this change in the RTH?
The problem with this question and proposed solution is that there will always be someone with another scenario who's model could have been saved if the OSD responded in a different way.
Take the guy whose model was destroyed when his OSD attempted to fly straight, and climbed right into the giant Oak because his model Failsafed as he was turning through the clearing half a second before the big Oak.
Had the OSD turned his model toward home before it started to climb his model would be fine right now.

You need to know your equipment and understand what it will do, and fly in a way that takes into consideration how your equipment reacts.

Because I know through testing the OSD turns toward home immediately it detects a failsafe, I don't fly behind objects.

Geoff
garris2 is offline Find More Posts by garris2
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2014, 03:18 AM
Registered User
Lower Blue Mountains, Australia
Joined Jan 2006
337 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by garris2 View Post
Because I know through testing the OSD turns toward home immediately it detects a failsafe, I don't fly behind objects.

Geoff
Thanks Geoff, that's what I was after
Dr. |2udie is offline Find More Posts by Dr. |2udie
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2014, 06:53 PM
KJ4YYJ
EugeneFlorida's Avatar
Saint Petersburg FL
Joined Jun 2009
713 Posts
S bus

How do I get the S bus receiver to work?

Thanks
EugeneFlorida is offline Find More Posts by EugeneFlorida
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2014, 07:16 AM
Registered User
Canada, ON, Thunder Bay District
Joined Apr 2007
711 Posts
A quick question. I have my throttle, ailerons and elevator running through the OSD Pro. Sometimes during flight I will trim the rudder to hold a straighter course. Should I Reset Cruise Sticks & Throttle in the Configure Radio Control menu after trimming the rudder?
Fast Guy is offline Find More Posts by Fast Guy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2014, 05:57 PM
Registered User
Thint1's Avatar
Austria / Vienna
Joined Feb 2007
1,293 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast Guy View Post
A quick question. I have my throttle, ailerons and elevator running through the OSD Pro. Sometimes during flight I will trim the rudder to hold a straighter course. Should I Reset Cruise Sticks & Throttle in the Configure Radio Control menu after trimming the rudder?
Hi,
yes, you should do so - trimming is interpreted from osd like a small stick input. when you use centerstick this input decreases stabilisation. or during rth the plane isnīt trimmed well, because rth uses the stored neutrals.

cu Thomas
Thint1 is online now Find More Posts by Thint1
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2014, 08:10 PM
Registered User
Canada, ON, Thunder Bay District
Joined Apr 2007
711 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thint1 View Post
Hi,
yes, you should do so - trimming is interpreted from osd like a small stick input. when you use centerstick this input decreases stabilisation. or during rth the plane isnīt trimmed well, because rth uses the stored neutrals.

cu Thomas
Thanks for the reply. I wasn't sure because the rudder isn't controlled the the OSD Pro in my case. After I read about the stored neutrals and ran the wizard again just to be on the safe side.
Fast Guy is offline Find More Posts by Fast Guy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2014, 09:19 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
487 Posts
Just sharing how my GS works with diversity and telemetry using Eagle Tree OSD, Eagle Eyes GS, Yagi, Patch and ProDipole Dragon Link antennas without any video issues during RTH from a medium range and somehow high flight, flying in circles above GS and landing manually.
Skyhunter RTH, GS Antenna tracking and landing (3 min 57 sec)
gtlavin56 is online now Find More Posts by gtlavin56
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale BRAND New CP Pro/with extra battery stgtech2 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Sep 06, 2006 09:35 PM
New eolo pro glitches with cc60 aschen Electric Heli Talk 24 May 20, 2004 08:12 AM
FS New Piccolo Fun with bearing upgrade and HA tail motor Bud Morrison Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Mar 21, 2004 06:32 PM
For Sale: NEW Pic Pro rotor head with stiffening mod Eco8gator Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jun 02, 2003 09:16 PM