HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 08, 2012, 02:53 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2011
20 Posts
Another thing I noticed is when both power supplies are of, there is continuity between earth and the 5V prongs on the unmodified PSU.
The modified PSU doesn't have this, but I did not check before I modified it.

Danny
Remklep is offline Find More Posts by Remklep
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 08, 2012, 04:24 PM
Registered User
Germany, TH, Hildburghausen
Joined Jul 2012
11 Posts
hello, is the kd-175 (14,4V and OVP-mod )short circuit protected ?
Robo1981 is offline Find More Posts by Robo1981
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 06:06 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
Remklep - Something is strange alright. If the cases are connectehave an outlet tester?d to the ground pins on the plugs and the plugs are plugged into a grounded socked, there should be no potential, AC or DC because they are all connected together. Do you have an outlet tester?
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 06:28 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robo1981 View Post
hello, is the kd-175 (14,4V and OVP-mod )short circuit protected ?
The OCP circuit remains intact even after the OVP mod as can be seen here:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=606

Why do you ask??
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 08:55 PM
Lipo Power
BrushlesHeaven's Avatar
Joined May 2009
294 Posts
Ps-3601-1c-rohs

Guys,
Is there a reason this temperature sensor is located at this area?
I know for a fact themperature is building up only at the high voltage area.
Also the air flow of fresh air lands on the sensor way before the worm area so why there? It would more sense to me to controll temperature buil up at the end...
Thanks
Robert
BrushlesHeaven is offline Find More Posts by BrushlesHeaven
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 07:53 AM
Registered User
Central Michigan
Joined Nov 2005
191 Posts
Hoping that someone can help me....

Does anyone know what the pinout is for a Delta Electronics DPS-450FB B power supply is? I have been searching the web but can't find any schematics or pinout diagrams.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Ray C
roadsplat is offline Find More Posts by roadsplat
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 01:56 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadsplat View Post
Hoping that someone can help me....

Does anyone know what the pinout is for a Delta Electronics DPS-450FB B power supply is? I have been searching the web but can't find any schematics or pinout diagrams.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Ray C
Try connecting these 2 pins together. It should power up.

xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 02:13 PM
VOLTS > AMPS
stgdz's Avatar
United States, MN, Buffalo
Joined Jul 2011
3,864 Posts
Any process on the dell 6650 and combining two?
stgdz is offline Find More Posts by stgdz
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 02:29 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Yo stgdz.

Just connect em up in series and go. No mods needed for series operation. DC ground is not connected to the case.

For parallel operation connect pins D1 together to utilize the current share function.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=1625
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Last edited by xandrios; Oct 09, 2012 at 02:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 03:12 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, Beaverton
Joined Apr 2005
115 Posts
Has anyone figured out how to adjust the output voltage of a Dell Poweredge 2850 power supply, model 7000814? I just converted a couple to be charger power supplies, but would like to be able to tweak the output voltage.

Along these lines, I have been able to isolate the output from the chassis ground by going inside the box and remounting the two circuit boards to the metal chassis with nylon 4-40 screws with nylon washers between the boards and the chassis mounting ears. Then I can use them in series.

Anyway, I'd like to be able to tweak the voltage of the supplies. Can anyone describe how to do this for this model of supply? I searched the thread, and it seems that connecting pin A2 to +12V through a resistor (say, 470 ~ 1K ohm) puts the output at 12.5V, but it would be nice to have finer control than that.

Thanks in advance.
wevets is offline Find More Posts by wevets
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 04:09 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Hello wevets.

You have the 2850 PSU model that doesn't have the internal voltage adjust pot.
There is no external way to increase voltage beyond the use of the current share pin(A2).
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 09:34 AM
Registered User
Central Michigan
Joined Nov 2005
191 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Try connecting these 2 pins together. It should power up.

Didn't seem to do anything different. Even if those two are not connected I get two green lights on the front of the PS. The top one blinks on-off though.

Any idea what pins are the ground?
roadsplat is offline Find More Posts by roadsplat
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 12:24 PM
Registered User
Central Michigan
Joined Nov 2005
191 Posts
[QUOTE=xandrios;22955250]Try connecting these 2 pins together. It should power up.

After some more playing around I found that if I connect the 4 pins I have indicated in red together the unit would power up. Not sure if that's correct but it seems to work. Also as indicated in the photo attached....the two big post at the far left are the 12v lines, the 4 post next to them are the grounds. On the right side, two posts are 5 volt and two are 3 v. Not sure what the other big post in the lower right corner is.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. Appreciate it.

RC
roadsplat is offline Find More Posts by roadsplat
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 01:59 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, Beaverton
Joined Apr 2005
115 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Hello wevets.

You have the 2850 PSU model that doesn't have the internal voltage adjust pot.
There is no external way to increase voltage beyond the use of the current share pin(A2).
Is there an internal way? I'm OK with going inside the box.
wevets is offline Find More Posts by wevets
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2012, 03:32 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
[QUOTE=roadsplat;22963609]
Quote:
Originally Posted by xandrios View Post
Try connecting these 2 pins together. It should power up.

After some more playing around I found that if I connect the 4 pins I have indicated in red together the unit would power up. Not sure if that's correct but it seems to work. Also as indicated in the photo attached....the two big post at the far left are the 12v lines, the 4 post next to them are the grounds. On the right side, two posts are 5 volt and two are 3 v. Not sure what the other big post in the lower right corner is.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. Appreciate it.

RC
Very good roadsplat. The pinout that I've found seems to have been close. It showed pin 7 as the on/off and pin 10 as ground. Main +12V and Ground pins match up close as well.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Last edited by xandrios; Oct 10, 2012 at 04:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 08:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 12:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 04:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 02:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 02, 2002 11:31 PM