New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 23, 2012, 03:30 AM
Find More Posts by VicTor D
Joined Apr 2012
3 Posts
Question
fuel engine + micro alternator = possible Quadcopter?

I am sorry if this has already been discussed, I am new with little to no technical knowledge and haven't been able to determine if it's possible to build a quad with a small cc engine connected to an alternator that can power the electric motors. Can someone help me understand the math behind it? Or if it's even possible?

Thanks,
Vic
VicTor D is offline Find More Posts by VicTor D
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 23, 2012, 10:02 AM
Find More Posts by dedStik
Redacted per NSA "suggestion"
United States, VA, Virginia Beach
Joined Feb 2012
5,513 Posts
What you are wanting to do is have an electric motor that is recharged from a fueled engine. Your run time would still be limited by the tank size, why not just go fuel in the first place and save the weight.
dedStik is online now Find More Posts by dedStik
Old Apr 23, 2012, 10:55 AM
Joined Apr 2012
3 Posts
Thank you for the quick response.
Are there any designs for fueled quadcopters?
Old Apr 23, 2012, 11:09 AM
Find More Posts by BMatthews
B for Bruce
The 'Wack, BC, Canada
Joined Oct 2002
12,824 Posts
I don't know of any engine driven quad copters.

I'd also suggest that at some point the power source indicates the sensible way to design a craft. Electric motors are dependable power sources and they are easily controlled for speed and power. They respond to the power input very quickly due to relatively low rotating mass.