|Jun 19, 2013, 06:55 PM|
Hello! I have a question about the scoring in sailing and in MicroMagic.
First I have to explain that I have competed in rc-soaring, in the F3K class, and are used to the special care and lenghts they have taken to make the competitions fair and level, they have tried to strictly cancel out "gameing the rules" and such.
I was recently at my first 2day regatta and we made 23 rounds over those 2 days. I had a so-so comp but made some ok rounds and one bullet that saved my weekend.
When the final result was presented the day after on our forum I noticed that I had been bumped down one step by one of the competitors that only sailed 12 of the first days 15 rounds, and then withdraw from the competition.
So I had been beaten by someone who had only sailed 52% of the competition, and when I looked over the result I could see that he had gotten all the 4 throwouts that the 23 rounds gave. I thought that this could clearly not be right and contacted the RO but after some massages back and forth he firmly claimed that this is the way to score.
Im a bit mystified over this, very actually.
First it is strange that he is getting the 4 throwouts when he dont participate in all rounds that you need to get them.
Secondly it is strange that not finishing or starting has a value at all. Since DNF or DNS gives a score of 12 (number of participating +1) in this case.
(In F3K if you land out or dont start you get a fat zero in the scoresheet for that round.)
So heres the question: Is this really right?
|Jun 19, 2013, 07:10 PM|
Can you provide a file with the results of all the races? Was the regatta using the heat management systme (HMS) or some other scoring system? WHat did it say in the sailing instructions about which scoring system is to be used?
If a boat starts in some heats and then withdraws form the event, they should be scored DNC (did not come to the start line). for all the races they missed.So at the end of the regatta, they have as many finish scores as everyone else. Then you can give them the throw-outs, same as everyone else.
The correct score in a low point system for a DNC or DNS is number of boats registered plus 1.
From the RRS.Appendix A.
A4.2 A boat that did not start, did not finish, retired or was disqualified
shall be scored points for the finishing place one more than the
number of boats entered in the series.
|Jun 19, 2013, 07:22 PM|
Heres a cutout.
My main point of confusion is that not participating has a value, and that you can get throwouts for something you dont participate in. In my view he should have 2 throwouts since he made 12 rounds( 1 throwout for 5 completed rounds).
|Jun 19, 2013, 08:55 PM|
Sorry Fluffracka, but his scoring is correct.
When you fail to finish in a race, you get last place plus one so 12 points and if you fail to come to the line, you get number registered plus 1, which is also 12 in your regatta.
So a boat that drops our gets a score for every race, just as if they were there, and gets the same number of discards as everyone else. The discards are shown in the square braces.
The totals add up correctly. So even though he dropped out he still beat you by one point.
My question to the organizers is are the number of discards correct. In normal HMS, the discards are after race 4, 8, 16 and 24. They did 4 discards, but only raced to race 23. So I think there is one too many discards - unless the SI specified a different set of discards overriding HMS. If you recalculate with three discards I think you beat him. He would add 12 for a total of 150 and you would add a 10 for a total of 149.
The standard HMS discards is
Excluded Scores (Discards): [Will be in accordance with HMS2007. When the total score is calculated for each boat, her worst scores will be excluded as follows:
After 4 races have been completed: One (1) discard
After 8 races have been completed: Two (2) discards
After 16 races have been completed: Three (3) discards
And so on for every eight (8) races.
|Jun 26, 2013, 04:13 PM|
Thanks John for taking of your time to explain.
MM racing has 1 discard for every 5 round writen in the SI, so that is correct as well.
Even though I find the way to score is pretty strange, it wont be a gamebreaker for me and I will continue to sail the races in the future to improve my game, but I think I will put some effort to lobby for more clear and fair scoring, at least locally...
|Jun 27, 2013, 09:05 PM|
The simple answer is the scoring used for MM Racing.
In Micro Magic most places have adopted a standardised scoring system which is One Discard Every Five Races.
Makes for simple scoring at the lakeside.
In Major Regattas this is generally formalised in the Sailing Instructions.
An example is the OZ (AMMCA) SI's @ 15.2
UK has the same SI on Discards
|Thread||Thread Starter||Forum||Replies||Last Post|
|Help! Sky Surfer Dilema||kingsixx||Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric)||4||Mar 21, 2013 04:29 AM|
|Discussion My score of the day! Score!||toki891||Fuel Plane Talk||6||Nov 28, 2012 07:09 PM|
|Discussion Excel Workbook for Flight Group Assignment, Score Entry, and Score Card Printing||Tandberg||Sailplane Talk||2||Oct 01, 2010 01:45 PM|
|Discussion F3K scoring/Dropping scores||excelpoint||Hand Launch||87||Nov 05, 2008 10:30 PM|
|Scored A Score-pian!||joe manor||Slope||9||Jan 08, 2005 03:30 AM|