SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 19, 2014, 04:34 PM
Joined Feb 2014
5 Posts
Question
CISCO WS-CAC-2500W Server supply info

Hello all, firstly let me confess that I am not into RC. I am however really impressed with the general ingenuity of people on this forum.

I am a radio amateur and a professional RF engineer so maybe I can be of some service in return for some help?

The latest radio frequency amplifier designs run from 42-50VDC and like the RC hobby we radio amateurs have discovered that server power supplies are fantastic things. The HP 3000W supplies are a really awkward shape to mount in a typical radio shack or chassis so I have just bought a CISCO WS-CAC-2500W Server supply. The trouble is there appears to be absolutely no info at all on this supply. I have read the thread on how to try an work stuff out for yourself which I will do if necessary.

However has anyone got any info at all on this supply?

Thanks

ceevee
ceevee is offline Find More Posts by ceevee
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 21, 2014, 12:28 PM
Joined Feb 2014
5 Posts
Today I got hold of a C19 cable and connected up the supply, upon switching it on I get 42v. I haven't put a load on it yet, nor have I figured out how to increase the output voltage but it's a start.

Next step is to see if I can get into the thing! It's not obvious at all as most of the chassis is riveted. I'll keep you posted.

ceevee
Old Feb 21, 2014, 02:06 PM
Joined Feb 2014
2 Posts
Hello. I too have a problem ...! I am a beginner, I bought a power supply HP (HP PSU HSTNS-PR09), 187 amps at 12 volts, but I do not know how to operate it. The food with 220Volt, lights up, the fan is running, but there is no voltage at the outputs. There are small plugs, in number of 12. 3 upper and 4 lower. Maybe someone should make short circuit. Can you help me?
npacelli is offline Find More Posts by npacelli
Old Feb 21, 2014, 02:38 PM
Project Tormentor is flying!
United States, WA, White Salmon