SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 30, 2014, 02:52 PM
Joined Apr 2014
6 Posts
Discussion
The NO-GUILT JETSKY: Bali 2015, any interest to build a solar panel HC+WIG prototype?

Hi everyone,

I am a French oil engineer leaving in Indonesia since 1984, presently at Bali & Lombok. My long-term goal is to achieve a functional one-seater open vehicle, but as many persons I see the stage of building and flying live RC models as the fastest and cheapest way to test and validate alternative configurations. Moreover IMHO, only persons accustomized to fiddle around with tons of models can have the creativity and the persistence to help in unproven project like mine.

Since "Hovercrafts" is the name given to this thread about air cushion vehicles (including WIG, PARWIG), let me start my story by pointing that several "experimental" one seater hovercrafts actually hover and move around (albeit slowly) with mechanical power in the range of just 400 Watt for 150 kg of total load, including Willy pictured below crossing the Thames in 2009 with human power only.

Therefore, assuming we would equip such vehicle with just TWO square meters of high-performance panels (solar efficiency 25%-30%) we could then get 500-600 Watt in sun-drenched meridional, tropical or equatorial countries.
It means that accounting 75% efficiency for engine/propeller, we get around 400 Watt of mechanical energy. One-seater hovercrafts could possibly hover and move from solar energy alone !!!!!

Now, let's dream we have the area and the budget to squeeze SIX square meters of those high efficiency wafers on the same hovercraft, the squeezing being illustrated by two three-wheeled road vehicles of the Japanese university of Tokay and of Netherland Nuna (both pictured below). It would mean that we would have now 1800 Watt to play with...
This TRIPLED energy supply versus slow-hovering shall open lots of new horizons, no ?