HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 01, 2014, 06:27 PM
United States, CA, Santa Maria
Joined Mar 2012
18 Posts
Discussion
Saito T2 GR

I am new to steam power and have a question about the displacement lubricator that came with the Saito T2 GR engine. I have bench tested it one time and am concerned about the lack of oil being displaced during the test. After running for about 20 minutes and letting it cool down. I was surprised to see that almost none of the oil had been displaced by the steam. I used a syringe to remove the oil and was expecting to pull water from the bottom of the lubricator and to my surprise it was almost non existent. Also when I emptied the oil separator it seemed to be all water with almost no oil residue. I am using the same steam oil that I use in my Monahan Sparrow Twin Cylinder Steam Engine ( Shell Valveta -460). When I run the Sparrow it will displace almost the entire lubricator in a normal 20 minute run. The lubricators seem to be similar devices tube passing through cylinder with a small hole. The only thing I can think of is the oil is to thick for the Saito. The Saito engine seems to run at a lower pressure that the Monahan engine. Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Billkorn is offline Find More Posts by Billkorn
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 02, 2014, 06:30 AM
Romania, Bucuresti, Bucharest
Joined Mar 2008
478 Posts
Did you check for anything obstructing the small hole in the lubricator?
-kno3- is offline Find More Posts by -kno3-
Old Apr 02, 2014, 07:32 AM
Joined Mar 2012
18 Posts
Yes! I even ran a small drill bit through just to make sure.
Old Apr 02, 2014, 12:41 PM
Grumpa Tom
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
22,795 Posts
Our resident Saito steam expert, Steve Ciambrone, will have an answer for you when he drops in. But he may be out in the middle of the Pacific Ocean at present.
Kmot is offline Find More Posts by Kmot
Old Apr 02, 2014, 04:45 PM
Joined Mar 2012
18 Posts