HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 28, 2012, 11:48 AM
Joined Feb 2012
21 Posts
Discussion
Battery selection for DJI F550 hex kit

HI

I am going to be building my first multicopter (settled on DJI F550 ARF with NAZA). Quick question (yes I am total newbie) - I was told to get a 4S 4000-6000ma battery. I can see a few options on the internet but with different C ratings 30C vs 40C vs 50C. Can anyone provide some recommendations here? I don't understand the difference, but want an optimal choice for my set up in terms of flight time and power (I am using the stock DJI motors). Thanks
copters3d is online now Find More Posts by copters3d
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 29, 2012, 06:35 AM
Joined Feb 2012
21 Posts
Anyone?
Old Feb 29, 2012, 07:11 AM
Dallas, TX
Joined Jan 2010
753 Posts
OK, let's see if I can help a little.

The 'C' rating tells you how much current you can reasonably expect the pack to deliver but it is a very vague number in most cases as the quoted rating is not usually based on cells assembled into a pack but special testing on a single cell in very favorable circumstances

So for a 5000mAh pack with a 40C rating they are claiming it can support up to 200 amps continuous, which few if any of them actually will, but fortunately you are not likely to be drawing that much either ...

The other consideration is that weight tends to increase along with higher C ratings (and capacity) and you don't want to carry more weight than you need.

In the absence of any specific recommendations from others I'd say don't go beyond a 40C pack and in all probability a 30C pack would still be perfectly adequate.

Now, a brief question in return

Did your F550 ship with both 8" and 10" props?

Just curious as the manual lists both in the box, but mine only had 10" included.

Just wondering if that is 'normal' or if something got left out by accident?
Telrin is offline Find More Posts by Telrin
Old Mar 01, 2012, 06:05 PM