Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 10, 2010, 04:18 PM
BrianG
Edonton, AB
Joined Jun 2009
36 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by everydayflyer View Post
Well the max the PL8 can draw is 50amps. which should be a walk in the parkk for this supply so why not set it at that?

Charles
I am concerned about pulling 50A through just 4 output blades.

I have a "y" connector to couple both banks but In this instance I want to use the other bank for the TP601C.

Is pulling 50A from only one bank of output contacts OK?
nairbg is offline Find More Posts by nairbg
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 10, 2010, 04:52 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,656 Posts
I pull 30A from single contact on IBM 235 server power supplies and 50 amps. from dual (2 sets) of contacts from my hp ESP 114 server power supplies. My rule of thumb is if they do not get very warm they are fine.

Your ps is rated 100 amps. so half of its' output should have no problem at 50A.

Charles
everydayflyer is online now Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2010, 05:09 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,304 Posts
1) No. The 580 will never go below 12V in operation - guarantee it. Leave it at the default 10V. It's irrelevant (but not for Pd supply batteries which is a separate setting on this charger if I read the manual correctly)

2) Set this to a bit below the current output specified from the PS on the nameplate. From memory it is 75A for 110V supply so you might want 70A. Will limit your total charger input to 70x12 = 840Watts. You could set it the same if you want. Again the 580 will protect itself in any case but it is better to have the charger manage any overload nicely than have the supply shut down. Won't happen since this supply has a lot more current capacity than your charger can draw. Note that your PS8 will never be a 1000W charger on 12V. Max is 600W with the 50A input limit.

It doesn't matter whether you use one or two connectors. The +12V and ground are all connected internally. The currents across the internal PC tracks may be a bit unbalanced if you use two separate connectors into two different packs but that has nothing to do with the total current.

John

PS Sorry, missed Charles reply before I wrote this (Charles do you never sleep!)

He is spot on and has the advantage of having a PL8 so speaks from experience.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nairbg View Post
I still have questions with regard to the CellPro PowerLab8 setup information. It requests power source data in terms of lower voltage limit and upper current limit.

1. The manual suggests using 1/2 of the operating voltage (12v) for the lower voltage limit from a DC power supply. This would mean setting 6v for the DL580. Does this make sense for the DL580? (the PowerLab8 default setting is 10v)

2. The manual requests an upper current limit for charging. I am not sure what would be appropriate for the 1300W DL580, pulling from only one side (2 pairs) of the output contacts. (the PowerLab8 default setting is 25A)

Can anyone advise?
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Last edited by jj604; Sep 10, 2010 at 05:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2010, 05:46 PM
BrianG
Edonton, AB
Joined Jun 2009
36 Posts
Yes, it's 74A from the low voltage (100-125v) supply on this one.

I don't know, but it seems like you guys are missing my question...

Is it OK to pull that much from one one set of contact blades (2+/2-) on the the DL580?

Thanks!
nairbg is offline Find More Posts by nairbg
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2010, 05:55 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,304 Posts
Yes. See Charles comment. If it gets too hot stop.
One set of those contacts should carry the full load of your charger (50A).

John
Quote:
Originally Posted by nairbg View Post
Yes, it's 74A from the low voltage (100-125v) supply on this one.

I don't know, but it seems like you guys are missing my question...

Is it OK to pull that much from one one set of contact blades (2+/2-) on the the DL580?

Thanks!
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2010, 07:08 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,656 Posts
Quote:
PS Sorry, missed Charles reply before I wrote this (Charles do you never sleep!)
One of those great lines from a movie, I forget which one..

I will have plenty of time to sleep when I am dead.

FYI While testing a parallel charging/ balancing board today I pulled 40 A thrugh 24" of 14gagae supper flex, a pair of APP 45A connectors,a set of 4 mm bullets and a pair of Deans Ultras( real Dean male and fake female. All of this between the deep cycles and the balancing board. The APPs were the hottest at 145F in 94F ambient. Fake Deans 126F and the 14gage leads 113F .

Charles
everydayflyer is online now Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Last edited by everydayflyer; Sep 10, 2010 at 07:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2010, 07:34 PM
Registered User
North Alabama
Joined Feb 2005
49 Posts
What is Superflex ??
Pdwight is offline Find More Posts by Pdwight
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2010, 07:58 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,656 Posts
Wet noddle,super flex,high stan count with silicon insulation all the same. Same type wire used on ESC,LiPolys etc..

I was merely making the point that even 24" of this in only 14 gage with multi connectors did not get overly hot with 40A flowing thrugh it at 94F ambient.

Charles
everydayflyer is online now Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2010, 08:17 PM
Registered User
North Alabama
Joined Feb 2005
49 Posts
I have just gotten back into RC after 7 or 8 years off, Electric has really changed in those years. What is a good source for this type of wire ?

Dwight
Pdwight is offline Find More Posts by Pdwight
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2010, 08:21 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,656 Posts
http://cheapbatterypacks.com/?menu=F...2A9&sid=593050

FYI Same type wire has been used in RC for at least 30 years that I am aware of and likely even longer.
everydayflyer is online now Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2010, 08:30 PM
Registered User
North Alabama
Joined Feb 2005
49 Posts
Thanks that is a good resource
Pdwight is offline Find More Posts by Pdwight
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 12:20 PM
Airborn Maniac
United States, FL, Fort Myers
Joined Jan 2009
71 Posts
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1307957

I wonder if anyone has ran across a server PS that could do 28V, 52 amp, 2000 watts like this?

All i've read is 2 12vPS = 24v

I know that it could be done with one Power supply with individual ground and wonder if anyone has come across one.
die4good is offline Find More Posts by die4good
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 04:16 PM
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
USA, TX, Euless
Joined Aug 2003
9,341 Posts
If I did, I'd be all over it. They are just not used (AFAIK) in the industry now. That may change someday. See my blog. I have been using that one with my Duossince it was written. No problems. I have sold several sets to others who have done the same thing with no problems reported. It seems to be a good solution. Also inexpensive. I know others have used different supplies in series as well with good results.

RE: the link above - I'm sure those are great.
feathermerchant is offline Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 04:36 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,656 Posts
If I needed more than 24 volts as supplied by a couple server ps in series I would just ad a third and have 27.3 volts or perhaps 29 depending on the charge , power supplies and amps. needed and avaialble on the 3.3 and 5V outputs.

Charles
everydayflyer is online now Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 10:36 PM
Airborn Maniac
United States, FL, Fort Myers
Joined Jan 2009
71 Posts
well, I guess that's the way to go taking the cheaper route!! LOL
die4good is offline Find More Posts by die4good
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 08:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 12:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 04:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 02:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 02, 2002 11:31 PM