HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 04, 2009, 03:25 PM
Philippians 4:13
Seward, NE
Joined Nov 2006
5,739 Posts
yeah, I completely understand why people add cf rods and tape and everything else but I guess it depends on your flying style. If you want to do a full throttle dive and see how fast you really can make it go then you better do some reinforcing. I just don't like to add the weight because I like to float around with a light plane just as much as I like to go fast!

I agree with you on the elevons though. I don't think they are very effective even at WOT with the stock set up. My Dad was rolling while in a dive and couldn't come out of it so his Stryker hit the ground at full throttle and of course it hit the sidewalk instead of the grass :-)
ty_horn is offline Find More Posts by ty_horn
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 05, 2009, 10:31 AM
You down with EPP?
johnnyrocco123's Avatar
Houston, Tx
Joined May 2009
6,818 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ty_horn View Post
yeah, I completely understand why people add cf rods and tape and everything else but I guess it depends on your flying style. If you want to do a full throttle dive and see how fast you really can make it go then you better do some reinforcing. I just don't like to add the weight because I like to float around with a light plane just as much as I like to go fast!

I agree with you on the elevons though. I don't think they are very effective even at WOT with the stock set up. My Dad was rolling while in a dive and couldn't come out of it so his Stryker hit the ground at full throttle and of course it hit the sidewalk instead of the grass :-)
I've done that twice due to the elevons bending. Both at about 85mph.

BTW, we have radared two completely stock strykers at our club field. Out of the box theyhit 63mph on level passes.

SO getting a stryker to 120mph is crazy. I can't even get my funjet past 105mph. I only have flown 3S though I am crossing over to 4S as we speak.
johnnyrocco123 is offline Find More Posts by johnnyrocco123
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2009, 10:42 AM
Philippians 4:13
Seward, NE
Joined Nov 2006
5,739 Posts
that is great to know... I have always wondered how fast the stock stryker really was.
ty_horn is offline Find More Posts by ty_horn
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2009, 02:18 PM
Hi, hi, hi there!
danwyatt's Avatar
Mesa, AZ
Joined Sep 2009
47 Posts
I believe you can get a Stryker into the 150-160mph range. Rumor at the flying field is that someone was clocked over 200mph (I can't find any proof of that), but here is a video of a Stryker that does 140mph! (not stock, of course )

2000 watt 140mph Parkzone Stryker (2 min 17 sec)
danwyatt is offline Find More Posts by danwyatt
Last edited by danwyatt; Nov 05, 2009 at 04:09 PM. Reason: note
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2009, 03:11 PM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,848 Posts
johnnyrocco123,

Stock Stryker with APC E 6X5.5 will hit 72 MPH on radar. I clocked my friend's F-27C. He had stock battery and ESC.

Keep eye on stock battery and use throttle control as needed.


Motor is not maxed yet, but battery is maxed, same with 25A stock ESC.
Newer 30A ESC have more room to go.

Best to replace stock battery and ESC, and add large heat sink.
Then you can play with more AMPs on 3S and 4S.
Possible to reach 90-92MPH on 4S with MOTOR AT ITS MAX AMPs with throttle control

On 3S APC Pylon 6.5X5.0 , maybe 6.5X5.5 are possible (NOT STOCK ESC or BATTERY)

Things are real risky for that stock motor at around 37A. Lots of guys burned out motors.

Read the link for stock motor on 4S, see videos too:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=880705


Gryphon
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2009, 04:25 PM
You down with EPP?
johnnyrocco123's Avatar
Houston, Tx
Joined May 2009
6,818 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GryphonRCU View Post
johnnyrocco123,

Stock Stryker with APC E 6X5.5 will hit 72 MPH on radar. I clocked my friend's F-27C. He had stock battery and ESC.

Keep eye on stock battery and use throttle control as needed.


Motor is not maxed yet, but battery is maxed, same with 25A stock ESC.
Newer 30A ESC have more room to go.

Best to replace stock battery and ESC, and add large heat sink.
Then you can play with more AMPs on 3S and 4S.
Possible to reach 90-92MPH on 4S with MOTOR AT ITS MAX AMPs with throttle control

On 3S APC Pylon 6.5X5.0 , maybe 6.5X5.5 are possible (NOT STOCK ESC or BATTERY)

Things are real risky for that stock motor at around 37A. Lots of guys burned out motors.

Read the link for stock motor on 4S, see videos too:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=880705


Gryphon
Thing is, I would never pay $60 for a stock stryker motor. Why do that when you can get an ARC for the same price. The E-flite six series can take more of a beating too. I believe you could push the stock stryker to 70 with the right prop, but not with the stock 6x4 prop and stock 12C battery.
johnnyrocco123 is offline Find More Posts by johnnyrocco123
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 10:09 AM
Registered User
tho98027's Avatar
Joined Aug 2004
976 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GryphonRCU View Post
tho98027,

I got to the bottom of it after much searching of various links.

You saw:

MEGA AC 16/30/x , 16/35/x 16/40/x:
MEGA AC 16/30/1
Střídavý elektromotor pro pohon soutěžních modelů lodí v kategorii ECO EXPERT ( MEGA AC 16/30/1, lodní šroub 30 mm, vodní chlazení hliníkovou trubičkou, regulátor 66A, LIPOL 7,4V 5000 mAh)

MEGA AC 16/35/1,5
Speciální střídavý elektromotor pro pohon soutěžních modelů v kategorii F5D, na 5 LIPOL.

MEGA AC EDF 120 II
Nový střídavý elektromotor pro pohon elektrodmychadel o průměru 120 mm na 8- 12 LIPOL, 3 kW, hmotnost 515g
MEGA AC F3A 2,5Kw

______________________

The 16/40 refers to that EDF motor....should not have been called 16/40/X

I also called MEGA motor USA and there is no 16/40/X , So that mistake needs to be corrected and an e-mail regarding that has been sent.


Also on the very top line in that paragraph when you see:
"MEGA AC 16/30/x , 16/35/x 16/40/x" if you click it, it is a short cut to this link:

http://www.megamotor.cz/v3/script/de...c4884acf3e038b

Now see the top of that page....no 16/40/X

you got all of our hopes up....but at least you caught a mistake though.


16/35/2 is in testing phase though, so you let the cat out of the bag... It is 1890 KV not 1840 KV , now how did I know that? Shhhhhhhhh
The resistance of that one and 16/35/1.5 is less than advertised



Gryphon
Got an email back from Dan Matyas, owner and maker of MEGA motors. The 16/40/xx is in deed being made. It's been in testing for the last couple of months and will be available at the first of the year.
tho98027 is offline Find More Posts by tho98027
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2010, 04:28 PM
Registered User
GryphonRCU's Avatar
United States, CA, SF
Joined Mar 2008
3,848 Posts
tho98027,

Are you talking about these?


Post # 953

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_88...39/key_/tm.htm


Gryphon
GryphonRCU is offline Find More Posts by GryphonRCU
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2010, 05:46 PM
Registered User
tho98027's Avatar
Joined Aug 2004
976 Posts
Wow. The motor you claim never existed. Looking forward to some test results. I'm sure it will set a new benchmark.
tho98027 is offline Find More Posts by tho98027
Last edited by tho98027; Apr 27, 2011 at 03:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 03, 2010, 11:42 PM
Registered User
USA, MS, Long Beach
Joined Jan 2010
13 Posts
Thanks for all of the information, y'all! I just got a used StrykerB to play around with, and I'll slowly be upgrading it as I get used to the control on this, and replace the body. I can't wait to make my own custom version. ^^
akkeresu is offline Find More Posts by akkeresu
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2011, 07:18 PM
"Where are the shovels?"
wise guy's Avatar
Joined Apr 2010
818 Posts
Wow, I remember when this thread was the hottest thing in the PF forum.

Currently building yet another Stryker. Will post soon.
wise guy is offline Find More Posts by wise guy
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2011, 07:33 PM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,559 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wise guy View Post
Wow, I remember when this thread was the hottest thing in the PF forum.

Currently building yet another Stryker. Will post soon.
All threads eventually fade. The T28 is still going strong. I think if you really want a fast wing there are others that simply designed for high speed like the Rite Wing.

I still have late model Stryker NIB which I added some CF to that I have yet to maiden. I simply got diverted by EDFs.
Prof100 is offline Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 23, 2011, 07:40 PM
"Where are the shovels?"
wise guy's Avatar
Joined Apr 2010
818 Posts
I have other planes, such as my new FJ Ultra. Stryker does have allot of wing area, and I like to buy American .
wise guy is offline Find More Posts by wise guy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F-27 Stryker How Far Can You Take It? Part 3 Fred Bronk Parkflyers 560 Jul 03, 2005 01:04 AM
F-27 Stryker How Far Can You Take It? Part 2 Michael Heer Parkflyers 861 Apr 10, 2005 10:02 PM
F27 Stryker...How far can you take it? ChuckD Parkflyers 536 Feb 16, 2005 06:33 PM
Corona: How far can you build, Kit only NewRotorSoon Electric Heli Talk 4 Mar 03, 2003 10:55 PM
Slow Stick on Kokams.... or how long can you take it? Tres Wright Parkflyers 20 Jan 21, 2003 09:20 AM