SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 14, 2014, 01:50 AM
Joined Jan 2013
88 Posts
Help!
Got a few basic questions on EDFs

Well first of all I this is not a jet but for a hovercraft's lift power system. So the EDF will be stationary all the time, blowing air out to fill up the skirt of the hovercraft.
Here are the questions:
1) Thrust is my primary requirement. Are EDFs good at providing thrust compared to props?

2) Can EDFs run in the opposite direction, that is, can it push air from the front instead of sucking air in by interchanging 2 wires?

3) I am thinking of buying this EDF : http://www.banggood.com/RC-Model-12-...-p-912234.html
Is it any good, keeping in mind that thrust is my primary concern? I will be running it in 3S configuration.

I am completely new to EDFs. So don't hate on me if my questions are too basic or screwed up. Thank you.

P.S: My first language is not english. So sorry about my bad grammar.
kartiksriramk is offline Find More Posts by kartiksriramk
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 14, 2014, 08:15 AM
Williamsville, NY, USA
Joined Sep 2000
4,510 Posts
In answer to quest. #1. Amp for amp, dollar for dollar, diameter for diameter, an EDF will not beat a prop in thrust.

#2. Probably not but that applies to props as well.

#3 no basis to form an opinion

For someone whose who is not a native English speaker, your grammar is just fine. In fact, it's better than a lot of what is read on this forum
Larry Dudeck is offline Find More Posts by Larry Dudeck
Old Apr 14, 2014, 08:49 AM
Joined Jan 2013
88 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Dudeck View Post
In answer to quest. #1. Amp for amp, dollar for dollar, diameter for diameter, an EDF will not beat a prop in thrust.

#2. Probably not but that applies to props as well.

#3 no basis to form an opinion

For someone whose who is not a native English speaker, your grammar is just fine. In fact, it's better than a lot of what is read on this forum