HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 03, 2005, 10:09 PM
Hack of all trades...
Detroit, Michigan
Joined Oct 2004
371 Posts
Alert
Afraid of Quick Field Charger & LiPo's!!

I recently received a Hobbico Quick Field Charger MkII as a gift and have concerns about using it to charge LiPo's. In the instructions it indicates that it can be used for Li-Ion, but not Li-Poly. My guru at my LHS says it CAN be used for Li-Poly as well. I've done a search and I know there are others using this device for LiPo's too.

Since I'm new to electrics and am being extra careful to avoid mistakes with LiPo's, I'd appreciate any advice on this. If it's not 100% safe, I'm not intersted.

Thanks in advance.

Smooth
Smooth Spanky is offline Find More Posts by Smooth Spanky
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 03, 2005, 11:23 PM
Joined Oct 2003
2,421 Posts
Its a great charger but it is made for li/ions(hold lower voltage) so it doesn't complete the charge for li/pos. Some consider this a good thing as you will be farther from overcharging than with a 100% peak charger.......
Matthew Cotten is offline Find More Posts by Matthew Cotten
Old Feb 04, 2005, 12:03 AM
CHICAGO
Joined Feb 2004
1,616 Posts
good over all charger for the $. Used mine for a year, never any problems ( non caused by charger anyway )

Dan
supi7 is offline Find More Posts by supi7
Old Feb 04, 2005, 01:23 AM
United States, FL, Melbourne Beach
Joined Dec 2003
430 Posts
It's a very good charger. One and a half years use with no problems. It's true that it only charges to 98% max, but you'll never notice the difference. Don't worry, just make sure that you follow the instructions and keep the power supply above 12 volts.
darrell_f is offline Find More Posts by darrell_f
Old Feb 04, 2005, 09:58 AM
Southern Pride
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,511 Posts