Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 04, 2014, 07:54 PM
Joined Jul 2014
37 Posts
Build Log
3D Models of Planes for 3D Printing (Polikarpov I-185)

Does anyone know where I can find any good 3D models of any WWII planes? I've been searching through the internet and I have not really found anything except rendered pictures of WWII planes. An idea I have would probably be extracting models from WW2 simulator video games like War Thunder.

If not, do you know any place which has very accurate blue prints for modeling these aircraft in a program like Solidworks? Since I'm new to this, I want to learn the process of turning 2D drawings into a full 3D model.

What I will do with this model is size it down to scale, adjust the interior for electric or gas engines, and then 3D print the aircraft in pieces using a 3D printer. I have got the idea from this video.

First flight of 3D printed plane (2 min 26 sec)

If anyone wants, I'll give away these models for free so that anyone with a 3D printer will be able to make these planes. 3D printed planes will lower the cost of buying plastic planes, and there will be more availability of rare planes like the Focke-Wulf Super Lorin. Thanks in advance.
LuftwaffeSS is online now Find More Posts by LuftwaffeSS
Last edited by LuftwaffeSS; Jul 18, 2014 at 09:24 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 04, 2014, 10:06 PM
Der Schaum-Krieg-Vogel Piloten
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Jan 2013
805 Posts
Have you seen this thread?

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2176450
FLTRI is offline Find More Posts by FLTRI
Old Jul 04, 2014, 11:12 PM
Purdue Engineering
Joined Jan 2005
2,584 Posts
Try GrabCad. A quick search reveals that there are several WWII aircraft models available in STEP/IGES format that will open in many CAD programs. Note that you'll have to create an account in order to download. Here are a few examples:

https://grabcad.com/library/vought-f4u1-corsair-1
https://grabcad.com/library/me-109-ww2-aircraft