HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 14, 2013, 12:14 AM
Australia, SA, Adelaide
Joined Jan 2009
542 Posts
Discussion
70mm L-39 foam to composite build

Hi all,
I am embarking on an extremely ambitious project...scratchbuilt composite F-86 (or another if convinced otherwise) 70mm or 90mm jet. Ambitious because I have only been flying for just over 5 years with a couple of years in the middle not doing any flying because of young family duties, and second I have no experience in designing using CAD nor with composite moulds, but hey, you have to start somewhere
What I do have experience in is scratch building balsa from a plan (Tony Nijhuis Hurricane and Spitfire 62" WS for both, and a RBC kits F-22 Raptor which is in the final stages of completion). I am also fairly handy with building in general and am keen to learn from you kind people that will subscribe to this thread and hopefully help me out.
I have been inspired by the builds of Acesimmer, Kanji, Matt Halton and Odysis and thus decided to give it a go myself. I have just emailed someone I know who owns the Classic Jet Fighter Museum in Adelaide www.classicjets.com as I want to make a jet that he has on display because I figure that is the best resource having the real plane their and access to it for design and detailing. He does have an f-86 and several other jets on display.
My plan is to meet up with him and see what info I can get (hopefully 3 direction drawings and cross sections as they do restoration work as well) and start designing from there.
Over the last couple of days I have downloaded sketchup which I plan to use as my 3D CAD program and viewed lots of tutorials and tried to get my head around the program and how to make the 3D design.
I hope this thread will not only help me with this build but anyone else who wishes to "scratch build" but doesn't know where to start ( because I really do not know where to start!)