HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 08, 2011, 10:04 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Sep 2003
17,945 Posts
A lower temp iron-on covering would be better. Monokote requires high temps, thus expanding the beads. Ultracote is a lower temp covering I believe. Since I've mostly left balsa planes I've lost my covering touch so find paint works fine for me most of the time now.
Vantasstic is online now Find More Posts by Vantasstic
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 08, 2011, 10:06 PM
Nakelp
nakelp86's Avatar
United States, NJ, Union
Joined Sep 2004
6,785 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdiddyg40 View Post
The problem with monocote or other iron-on coverings is that the foam tends to reexpand and bulge up. It ruins the nice look of the plane underneath. You'd have to play with it to find the temperature that will apply the covering, yet not overheat the foam.
Had no problem on regular white foam, will have to try on SW spare wing.
It looks way cleaner than paint.
Yeah, I think it was Ultracote, iron was warm to touch I think it was about 13o degrees if I remember correctly.
nakelp86 is offline Find More Posts by nakelp86
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: New (old) Disco gimbal
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2011, 11:02 PM
Fly Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!
EarthOrbiter's Avatar
Central California USA
Joined Feb 2011
379 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakelp86 View Post
Had no problem on regular white foam, will have to try on SW spare wing.
It looks way cleaner than paint.
Yeah, I think it was Ultracote, iron was warm to touch I think it was about 13o degrees if I remember correctly.
I kind of like this flourescent color.
If I use binoculars I can see it 3000 Ft up.
While also have a telescope with others much distance
EarthOrbiter is offline Find More Posts by EarthOrbiter
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2011, 05:28 AM
UAV Pilot
UndCon's Avatar
sweden
Joined May 2007
1,004 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek_S View Post
My other choice I have on hand is this one:

TR 35-36B 1300kv Brushless Outrunner


Input Voltage : 7.4V~11.1V (2~3S Li-po)
Kv : 1300rpm/V } within 10%
Max. efficiency current : 15~25A
Current capacity : 35A/30s
Dimensions : 35mm X 36mm / 1.38in X 1.41in
Weight : 106g / 3.74oz
Recommended model weight : 1000~1900g / 35~67oz
Power equivalent : .25 to .30 IC glow engine (400W+)

Thoughts?
I use The A version

With a Graupner CAM folding PROP 9*6 I get this numbers

http://www.undcon.com/2011/04/18/skywalker-maiden/
(See eagletree High Watts)
UndCon is offline Find More Posts by UndCon
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2011, 11:53 AM
Flying low is expensive.
pdiddyg40's Avatar
United States, CO, Boulder
Joined Jul 2008
2,398 Posts
Welp, I'm putting together a shopping list from RCTimer for my skywalker. I was going to go with either a 1250kv or 1450 kv motor on a 9 inch prop with a 3 cell. I know I've asked this before, but I'd like any final suggestions regarding motors. Does anyone have an opinion on either the 1250 or 145kv motors?

http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...0&productname= 1250kv

http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...1&productname= 1450 kv

http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...2&productname= 60amp ESC


Or maybe I could use the 1250 with a 10 inch prop?

Thanks,
-P.D.
pdiddyg40 is offline Find More Posts by pdiddyg40
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2011, 12:05 PM
KJ6BFN
henkvdw's Avatar
United States, CA, Fountain Valley
Joined Aug 2008
718 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdiddyg40 View Post
Welp, I'm putting together a shopping list from RCTimer for my skywalker. I was going to go with either a 1250kv or 1450 kv motor on a 9 inch prop with a 3 cell. I know I've asked this before, but I'd like any final suggestions regarding motors. Does anyone have an opinion on either the 1250 or 145kv motors?

http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...0&productname= 1250kv

http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...1&productname= 1450 kv

http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...2&productname= 60amp ESC


Or maybe I could use the 1250 with a 10 inch prop?

Thanks,
-P.D.
Unfortunately there is no prop data chart for these motors. Unless I have missed them?

You would have to generate your own test data.
Looking at the published data on the 1250 kV motor.
Model: BC3536-6
Motor size: Ф35*36mm
Shaft size: Ф5.0*53.5mm
Weight: 102g
KV(rpm/v): 1250
Max Power: 500W
Battery: 2-4Li-Po
Test Prop: 10x4.7/9x4.5
Ri(M Ω): 0.034
ESC(A): 50A

The 500W input is probably what they want to limit the motor to.
On 3S (11.1V) the maximum current allowed then would be I=500W/11.1V = 45.5A.
So install your prop and run it full throttle while monitoring the current.
Any prop that will make the motor draw more than 45.5A is to "big" and you'll have to either or both reduce the OD and/or pitch.

If these motors can take the same type of abuse that Scorpions would, my seat of the pants tells me that the 1250 kV unit will probably work with a 10" prop.
The 1450 kV motor would be good with the 9" prop.
henkvdw is online now Find More Posts by henkvdw
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by henkvdw; Jun 09, 2011 at 12:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2011, 12:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2010
865 Posts
I have the Turnigy 3536-1450 with Hobbywing 60ampESC. With a 9x6 pusher, I am getting 60amps on the bench with a 3S battery, and that is too much amperage for the motor rated to 35Amps and 400ish watts. So, I am going to set my throttle travel adjustment on my radio to a max of 40 amps. Even at 40amps, it blows like a hurricane, if I find that I need more power, I might pick it up to 45 amps....

Btw, a 10" prop gets pretty close to anything you might have on the tail boom platform.
thekubiaks is offline Find More Posts by thekubiaks
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2011, 12:16 PM
KJ6BFN
henkvdw's Avatar
United States, CA, Fountain Valley
Joined Aug 2008
718 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekubiaks View Post
I have the Turnigy 3536-1450 with Hobbywing 60ampESC. With a 9x6 pusher, I am getting 60amps on the bench. that is too much amperage for the motor rated to 35Amps and 400ish watts. So, I am going to set my throttle travel adjustment on my radio to a max of 40 amps. Even at 40amps, it blows like a hurricane, if I find that I need more power, I might pick it up to 45 amps....

Btw, a 10" prop gets pretty close to anything you might have on the tail boom platform.
Is that a 2 or 3 blade 9x6?
henkvdw is online now Find More Posts by henkvdw
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Priority Mail
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2011, 12:20 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2010
865 Posts
2 blade
thekubiaks is offline Find More Posts by thekubiaks
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2011, 12:39 PM
RC = FUN
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Joined Aug 2008
3,627 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekubiaks View Post
I have the Turnigy 3536-1450 with Hobbywing 60ampESC. With a 9x6 pusher, I am getting 60amps on the bench with a 3S battery, and that is too much amperage for the motor rated to 35Amps and 400ish watts. So, I am going to set my throttle travel adjustment on my radio to a max of 40 amps. Even at 40amps, it blows like a hurricane, if I find that I need more power, I might pick it up to 45 amps....

Btw, a 10" prop gets pretty close to anything you might have on the tail boom platform.


This is what I'm running. The motor does heat up quite a bit, but I wasn't sure how many amps it was pulling. I'll have to also trim my throttle.

And, even on about 1/2-3/4 throttle this will climb at a 45 degree angle. If I run full throttle I can go vertical for awhile. You really don't need this much power, but it's nice having it for reserve power
flyboy321 is offline Find More Posts by flyboy321
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2011, 01:33 PM
Registered User
UK, North Down, Bangor
Joined Nov 2009
1,593 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekubiaks View Post
So, I am going to set my throttle travel adjustment on my radio to a max of 40 amps. Even at 40amps, it blows like a hurricane, if I find that I need more power, I might pick it up to 45 amps....
This isn't a good idea. Brushless motors/ESCs don't work like that.

A brushless motor will draw as much current as it can to achieve it's rated Kv RPM with the particular prop.

If at 100% throttle it needs 60amps to achieve close to it's Kv, then at 50% throttle it will draw 60amps (or more!) for 50% of the time. (Delivering 50% the overall 'workdone', by consuming half the current load, half the time.) The drop in prop rpm is because the motor can't reach full Kv cause it's powers being cut away by the ESC.

This means there will still be 60amps running through the motor coils... rated for 35A.

It will heat up a lot and fail very early in life.

Down prop it or down cell it, end of. You want a prop, where the motor draws 35-40A at WOT.
venquessa is offline Find More Posts by venquessa
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2011, 02:41 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2010
865 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by venquessa View Post
This isn't a good idea. Brushless motors/ESCs don't work like that.

A brushless motor will draw as much current as it can to achieve it's rated Kv RPM with the particular prop.

If at 100% throttle it needs 60amps to achieve close to it's Kv, then at 50% throttle it will draw 60amps (or more!) for 50% of the time. (Delivering 50% the overall 'workdone', by consuming half the current load, half the time.) The drop in prop rpm is because the motor can't reach full Kv cause it's powers being cut away by the ESC.

This means there will still be 60amps running through the motor coils... rated for 35A.

It will heat up a lot and fail very early in life.

Down prop it or down cell it, end of. You want a prop, where the motor draws 35-40A at WOT.
Roger that.... I tried a 2S battery and am getting about 33 amps at WOT, maybe I should go with that one (same 9x6 pusher)
thekubiaks is offline Find More Posts by thekubiaks
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2011, 03:01 PM
Registered User
omegamanuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, Bradford
Joined Jul 2010
92 Posts
On the subject of power, I'm on my third outing now with my SW, it feels really under powered im using :-

KMS quantum 2814/09 motor 830 KV and supposed to run 20a continuous
Ripmax dragon 45A ESC
9 x 6 APC Thin Electric Prop
3s 5000 lipo

One cause of the under power may be the motor timing, motor says 20-30 deg but the esc default is 1 deg and the beeps for programming don't relate to the manual , even had my wife see if she could work them out, but to no avail.

Most I'm seeing on the osd is 12amps wot. Could the timing make such a difference, or do I need a different esc , motor, prop??
omegamanuk is offline Find More Posts by omegamanuk
Last edited by omegamanuk; Jun 09, 2011 at 03:36 PM. Reason: TYPO
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2011, 03:32 PM
Gravity is patient............
Joined Mar 2006
1,908 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by omegamanuk View Post
On the subject of power, I'm on my third outing now with my SW, it feels really under powered im using :-

KMS quantum 1814/09 motor 830 KV and supposed to run 20a continuous
Ripmax dragon 45A ESC
9 x 6 APC Thin Electric Prop
3s 5000 lipo

One cause of the under power may be the motor timing, motor says 20-30 deg but the esc default is 1 deg and the beeps for programming don't relate to the manual , even had my wife see if she could work them out, but to no avail.

Most I'm seeing on the osd is 12amps wot. Could the timing make such a difference, or do I need a different esc , motor, prop??
Yeah that's a really weak setup. My calculations give only about 30 ounces of thrust and about 12 amps wot. Your whole setup is pretty low thrust regardless of what you do. Tower hobbies has a 9x6x4 blade prop (not a pusher but you can run it backwards) and that will increase your thrust by 50% and your new amps at WOT will be about 19 to 20 amps.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LX1634&P=7
billyd60 is offline Find More Posts by billyd60
Last edited by billyd60; Jun 09, 2011 at 08:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 09, 2011, 03:39 PM
Registered User
omegamanuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, Bradford
Joined Jul 2010
92 Posts
Targetlocman thanks for the quick reply, the motors a 2814/09 not 1814/09 as I typed, will see if I can get a 4 blade prop locally, as I understand it 9 id the diameter and 6 is the pitch, so a 9x 8 say would give more thrust?
omegamanuk is offline Find More Posts by omegamanuk
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 23 Aug 08, 2010 06:27 AM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 10:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 09:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 11:45 AM