HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 18, 2014, 07:57 PM
Joined Jan 2014
49 Posts
Discussion
Safe LiPo disposal of battery that was in a plane for three days

Hello,

One of my planes was stuck in a tree for three days. After I managed to get the plane back, the battery (a 3S, 1000 mAh LiPo) shows 0.1 V on one cell, and about 1.25 V each on the two other cells. There is no physical damage to the battery as far as I can tell.

How do I safely discharge and dispose of this?

I guess I could attach a resistor on the balance connector to slowly discharge the two cells that still have some voltage left. I'm not an expert at this, but a 100 Ω resistor would limit the current to 25 mA and the power dissipation to a few dozen milliwatts. Of course it will take a while.

Or is the resistance too high in this case to successfully drain the battery?

Any other suggestions?
fred256 is online now Find More Posts by fred256
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 18, 2014, 08:17 PM
Space Coast USA
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
21,010 Posts
Anything below 2.5V/cell is D E A D. 0% energy left.
If it were mine I'd just toss it. However, if you want to, you can put any resistor across the main power leads and leave it for a day.
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Old Oct 18, 2014, 08:48 PM
Bombs away! Err...landing
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Joined Apr 2006
2,246 Posts
Yeah, close enough to dead that, I'd just strip the leads and twist them together. Might get a few sparks, but it will have so little energy it won't even get warm. Then throw it in the trash.
Ira NZ is offline Find More Posts by Ira NZ
Old Oct 18, 2014, 08:50 PM
I win again!! - mother gravity
Greenland, Qaasuitsup
Joined Apr 2013
1,728 Posts
hey, why toss?? i had the same thing happen to mine. it flew into a tree 50 feet up and was fully charged at the moment. Lights were blinking all that day and all night, then 2 days later, i got city hall to get the plane for me from the tree.