New Products Flash Sale
Old May 03, 2015, 01:44 AM
Find More Posts by Rusty Mustard
Die DX8, DIE!
Joined Feb 2013
2,302 Posts
Discussion
Started building kites, fun stuff!

Hi all, over the past couple of days i started playing with kites. My first build was one of the Singapore style kites, what a fun machine! Easy to build and flew right off the board.

The next one i'm working on is a chevron wing slope kite with fat rounded elevons. I'm going to see if i can get it to fly like an ultrabat on the slopes. So far i've got the wing finished, i just need to install some gear and start experimenting with fin arrangements in foam before i commit it to CF and nylon.

These things are a ton of fun!
Rusty Mustard is offline Find More Posts by Rusty Mustard
to remove ads between posts
Old May 03, 2015, 01:00 PM
Find More Posts by pardshaw
Flying one day at a time....
United Kingdom, Pardshaw
Joined Oct 2012
1,882 Posts
Hey Rusty, very nice!

What sort of weight/wing loading are you getting?

Dave
pardshaw is offline Find More Posts by pardshaw
Old May 04, 2015, 11:38 AM
Die DX8, DIE!
Joined Feb 2013
2,302 Posts
The Simple Kite weighs in just under 12oz auw, and i haven't weighed the slope kite yet, but i did fly it yesterday!

The CG was off, way forward, so i had limited control and a lot of reflex dialed in to keep the nose up, but i got about a minute or so of stick time floating in the lift. Last night i did glide tests and narrowed down the CG range.

I need a lighter battery, i'm using a 700mah LiFe rx pack, i need to solder some wires for a 300mah pack but i'm out of solder.

Even with the extra weight it's still light, probably light enough for thermals. I'll experiment with the single sheet wing for now but i eventually plan to add a second sheet of nylon and some ribs to try a proper airfoil.
Old May 05, 2015, 11:52 PM
Die DX8, DIE!
Joined Feb 2013
2,302 Posts
Simple RC Kite by davereap,,,

Flying the Simple RC Kite (5 min 48 sec)
Old Jun 27, 2015, 11:53 AM