Closed Thread
Old Aug 05, 2011, 01:48 PM
AMA 1042906
United States, KS, Derby
Joined Mar 2008
1,128 Posts
Discussion
Flying indoors....

I'm new to EDF's but am interested in a commercially available EDF plane that I can fly indoors in a double basketball court (and a little larger). Are there any EDF UM's available that would fly in a space this size? Looking at a lot of posts it appears most planes this size are scratchbuilt. Are there any kits/plans available?

Allan
swimmer is offline Find More Posts by swimmer
Last edited by swimmer; Aug 05, 2011 at 04:42 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 05, 2011, 05:43 PM
One eyed Corsair
PARIS
Joined Jul 2005
2,314 Posts
I designed a S3 Viking, several years ago, that was able to indoor flying... Powered with a pair of GWS EDF 50. 1100mm WS. Nice cool flyer... Still have the TIFF files for the plans.
GGRN is offline Find More Posts by GGRN
Last edited by GGRN; Aug 05, 2011 at 05:51 PM.
Old Aug 05, 2011, 08:12 PM
Micro Boat Forum Founder
United States, GA, Buford
Joined Nov 2007
6,488 Posts
The only commercially available plane that can do that are the two airhogs/silverlit jets.

Flying in tight spaces is not about plans or available kits. It is about the way you build it. If someone gives you plans and shrink it, it doesn't mean t hat the required space will shrink to.

It is about wing loading. Build light.
boredom.is.me is offline Find More Posts by boredom.is.me
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: RFD900 Case
Old Aug 05, 2011, 08:26 PM
One eyed Corsair
PARIS
Joined Jul 2005
2,314 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boredom.is.me View Post
The only commercially available plane that can do that are the two airhogs/silverlit jets.

Flying in tight spaces is not about plans or available kits. It is about the way you build it. If someone gives you plans and shrink it, it doesn't mean t hat the required space will shrink to.

It is about wing loading. Build light.