Thread Tools
Old Jan 26, 2016, 03:09 PM
Horgul123 is offline
Find More Posts by Horgul123
Registered User
Horgul123's Avatar
Germany, RP, Heßheim
Joined Jun 2014
40 Posts
Thanks for the hint. I hoped to get a more concrete recommendation, because I don't know, which of the possible motors are really good

But maybe I should just buy the recommended motor...
Horgul123 is offline Find More Posts by Horgul123
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 26, 2016, 03:15 PM
KRProton is offline
Find More Posts by KRProton
Tim Lampe; Hobbico R&D
KRProton's Avatar
Champaign, IL
Joined Dec 2009
4,471 Posts
The recommended 28-45-3600kV Ammo is great.

I've also run the HET 2W-18 (3650kV).

Shop around if you want. Any 28mm diameter, about 45mm length, about 100g - 130g motor will swing the APC 5.25 x 6.25 on 2S well (and 4.5 x 4.1 on 3S when you're ready). You'll want 3.2mm output shaft.

Maybe others will chime in with other "slow/beginner" prop/battery/motor suggestions/combinations.

Tim
KRProton is offline Find More Posts by KRProton
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2016, 06:07 PM
heli-headcase is online now
Find More Posts by heli-headcase
Multifaceted Heli Nut
USA, GA, Atlanta
Joined Oct 2004
1,629 Posts
My thoughts on motor choice from HK are now obsolete as the Turnigy motor I run has vanished from their site. But basically it's an equivalent of the Ammo 28mm motor Tim said works good. The Turnigy 28mm inrunner was preinstalled in the Hobby King Me163b Komet from 5 years ago. Grossly overpowered (1Kw claimed) on 4S and most models/ESC's didn't survive. Mine did because I removed the crazy inrunner motor before ever attempting to fly the Komet. When my Rifle 1m arrived I immediately considered and then installed that motor and now power it via 3S and a prop larger than the 4.1 X 4.1 supplied with the Komet.

Again, all pretty much obsolete info...
heli-headcase is online now Find More Posts by heli-headcase
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2016, 01:18 AM
Horgul123 is offline
Find More Posts by Horgul123
Registered User
Horgul123's Avatar
Germany, RP, Heßheim
Joined Jun 2014
40 Posts
Thanks for the hints. I think I stay with the recommended motor, The HK alternatives available in Europe are not so good.
Horgul123 is offline Find More Posts by Horgul123
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2016, 09:14 PM
MaydayMayday is online now
Find More Posts by MaydayMayday
Registered User
MaydayMayday's Avatar
United States, CA, Fremont
Joined Jul 2011
1,715 Posts
Hello all.

Picked up a used 1m today. I was REALLY excited that I didn't really look at the quality of the bird. It's going to need some work, they did a total hack job of the nose trying fix something. THE MOTOR IS GLUED TO THE FIREWALL! haha

I think they removed the firewall before and ground the lip off that is forward of the firewall, but in doing so messed up the fuse a little.

But I'll look through the thread get some good ideas of mods and fixes. Probably a little repaint.


First question, does it really need 9g servo strength in the wings? I can understand the elevator, either way I'll be putting in Digital/MG setup. I have HS-65HB/MG I can put in there.
MaydayMayday is online now Find More Posts by MaydayMayday
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2016, 07:37 AM
kingsflyer is online now
Find More Posts by kingsflyer
We shall serve the Lord
kingsflyer's Avatar
United States, TX, Kingsland
Joined Sep 2005
5,900 Posts
Looks like the Rifle 1M is finally back in stock at Tower.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXDCCM&P=ML

McD
kingsflyer is online now Find More Posts by kingsflyer
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: LEDs on my T-28
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2016, 09:31 AM
KRProton is offline
Find More Posts by KRProton
Tim Lampe; Hobbico R&D
KRProton's Avatar
Champaign, IL
Joined Dec 2009
4,471 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaydayMayday View Post
Hello all.

Picked up a used 1m today. I was REALLY excited that I didn't really look at the quality of the bird. It's going to need some work, they did a total hack job of the nose trying fix something. THE MOTOR IS GLUED TO THE FIREWALL! haha

I think they removed the firewall before and ground the lip off that is forward of the firewall, but in doing so messed up the fuse a little.

But I'll look through the thread get some good ideas of mods and fixes. Probably a little repaint.


First question, does it really need 9g servo strength in the wings? I can understand the elevator, either way I'll be putting in Digital/MG setup. I have HS-65HB/MG I can put in there.
That fuselage is a mess. Looks like whatever's left is charred. I'd sand off as little as possible to get the front end squared up and remove any material that doesn't look intact, then cut a new firewall and glue in with JB Weld. The new firewall will probably have to be a couple mm larger since it will be farther back, but shouldn't be a problem. A 30mm spinner may not match up to the fuse anymore, but shouldn't be a problem.

Regarding your servo strength question, I have a Rifle 1M with Diamond D47 servos however much (or little) torque those are.

Tim
KRProton is offline Find More Posts by KRProton
Last edited by KRProton; Mar 20, 2016 at 10:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2016, 01:06 PM
MaydayMayday is online now
Find More Posts by MaydayMayday
Registered User
MaydayMayday's Avatar
United States, CA, Fremont
Joined Jul 2011
1,715 Posts
Thanks for the info.
That's exactly what I plan on doing. I think it would be easier to just carefully cut the front back a little bit and make a new mount than to clean this current set up and risk breaking the fiberglass trying to get the motor out. As it is now I can twist the nose pushing on the motor.

Those servos you have are similar to the recommended servos. ~20kg. I'll have to look into it more. Not sure I want to drop $80 on servos especially if it's not needed, but I'm not going to use xt900 either haha.


Quote:
Originally Posted by KRProton View Post
That fuselage is a mess. Looks like whatever's left is charred. I'd sand off as little as possible to get the front end squared up and remove any material that doesn't look intact, then cut a new firewall and glue in with JB Weld. The new firewall will probably have to be a couple mm larger since it will be farther back, but shouldn't be a problem. A 30mm spinner may not match up to the fuse anymore, but shouldn't be a problem.

Regarding your servo strength question, I have a Rifle 1M with Diamond D47 servos however much (or little) torque those are.

Tim
MaydayMayday is online now Find More Posts by MaydayMayday
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2016, 12:28 PM
Dandiggz is offline
Find More Posts by Dandiggz
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
44 Posts
i saw that you guys were talking about launching. I need help maybe someone can tell me if its possible to setup a switch on my TX that puts my elevator in an up position for easy hand launches? Would this be called elevon mixing?
Dandiggz is offline Find More Posts by Dandiggz
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2016, 12:45 PM
KRProton is offline
Find More Posts by KRProton
Tim Lampe; Hobbico R&D
KRProton's Avatar
Champaign, IL
Joined Dec 2009
4,471 Posts
It would help if you said what kind of radio you are using. Anyway, might be better to ask about radio programming in the Radio forum for whatever kind of radio you have.

The Rifle 1M doesn't really need any mix for a launch. I used to mess with that, but I don't bother with it anymore . Well, my extreme, heavy, 180mph Rifle 1M maybe could use it, but a Rifle set up stock or near to it doesn't.

With Futaba you can mix right aileron and up elevator to a switch. Turn on the mix for launching and turn off the mix after the plane gets up and going. If your radio has the capability, program it so the "off" mix is on a delay and slow the servo speed for the "off" mix. Turn on the mix, turn off the mix, then launch the plane. The mix will "melt away" (mix out) since you had it on a delay with the servos slowed.

This is a programmable mix where the user programs the mix himself (unlike a pre programmed mix like you mentioned). The master is a switch and the slave is whatever you want to mix to it (in my example the ailerons and elevator). Only a small amount of mix is needed - like maybe 10% of your throw.

Still, if you insist on a mix tell us what kind of radio you have. That would help.

Tim
KRProton is offline Find More Posts by KRProton
Last edited by KRProton; Mar 21, 2016 at 01:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2016, 01:17 PM
akabek is offline
Find More Posts by akabek
Registered User
akabek's Avatar
Canada, ON, Toronto
Joined Jan 2013
626 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandiggz View Post
i saw that you guys were talking about launching. I need help maybe someone can tell me if its possible to setup a switch on my TX that puts my elevator in an up position for easy hand launches? Would this be called elevon mixing?
Setting you elevator to a switch sounds like a disaster waiting for happen. If you are not comfortable doing your own hand launch than have someone do it for you so you are ready at the controls?
akabek is offline Find More Posts by akabek
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2016, 09:44 PM
MaydayMayday is online now
Find More Posts by MaydayMayday
Registered User
MaydayMayday's Avatar
United States, CA, Fremont
Joined Jul 2011
1,715 Posts
What exactly are you having issues with?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandiggz View Post
i saw that you guys were talking about launching. I need help maybe someone can tell me if its possible to setup a switch on my TX that puts my elevator in an up position for easy hand launches? Would this be called elevon mixing?
MaydayMayday is online now Find More Posts by MaydayMayday
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2016, 09:57 PM
nighthawk0077 is online now
Find More Posts by nighthawk0077
Registered User
Canada, ON, Vaughan
Joined Oct 2009
1,984 Posts
Anyone know if a Graphene 4S 1300mah 65C fits?

Also what motor/prop is good for 160mph+?
Thanks :-)
nighthawk0077 is online now Find More Posts by nighthawk0077
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2016, 10:02 PM
G.P. is offline
Find More Posts by G.P.
iumop ap!sdn w,I
G.P.'s Avatar
Canada, AB
Joined May 2005
7,333 Posts
I had this pack in mine. I don't recall how much extra room I had but it wasn't much. If it's smaller than this you'll be good.

http://www.store.revolectrix.com/Pro...ance-Connector
G.P. is offline Find More Posts by G.P.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2016, 09:57 AM
fishboy77 is online now
Find More Posts by fishboy77
Lloyd Robinson
fishboy77's Avatar
USA, MO, St Louis
Joined Jun 2007
815 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G.P. View Post
I had this pack in mine. I don't recall how much extra room I had but it wasn't much. If it's smaller than this you'll be good.

http://www.store.revolectrix.com/Pro...ance-Connector
How was the performance with that Revo pack? Did it live up to the hype?
fishboy77 is online now Find More Posts by fishboy77
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Great Planes Evader EDF Sport Jet ARF 26.5" tee681 Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 0 Jan 19, 2013 05:30 PM
For Sale Great Planes Evader EDF Sport Jet ARF 26.5" tee681 Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 0 Jan 13, 2013 08:56 AM
Article Great Planes® ElectriFly™ Rifle ARF Review Bajora High Performance 135 Dec 17, 2012 04:04 AM
Sold Great Planes Rifle Sport/Racer EP ARF New in the Box hobbyfun100 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 09, 2012 10:09 AM
Sold Great Planes Rifle Sport/Racer EP ARF 31 sprintr Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Sep 30, 2010 11:37 AM