HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 06, 2012, 09:42 PM
Registered User
Brasil, MT, Sorriso
Joined Aug 2011
14 Posts
Discussion
EPA & T.Limit

Is it recommended to set for a new plane the all channel EPAs to 140% (maximum) and use only T.Limit for setup my end points? or I have to setup with EPA as always I did and after setup T.Limit?
rgil is offline Find More Posts by rgil
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 06, 2012, 10:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2002
5,808 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgil View Post
Is it recommended to set for a new plane the all channel EPAs to 140% (maximum) and use only T.Limit for setup my end points? or I have to setup with EPA as always I did and after setup T.Limit?
Requirements differ according to the model and type of flying involved,
very few require EPA to be extended, especially if mechanically correct.
Full EPA can cause problems with some other brand servos.
The following might assist:

. Aurora 9 - EPA & D/R Functions
Create Dead Zone in Stick Travel - keep either the D/R or EPA setting at 125% or less and the other at 120% or less.
. Aurora 9 - EPA & T.Limit (added V1.08) - Difference & Use. Mixes can overthrow EPA% setting.
Travel Limit is a hard stop point so mixes can not overthrow % set in T.Limit and bind up a servo.


.EPA, ATV, Dual Rates & Expo Differences & Caution + ESC BEC Set Up

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links (quick search = Ctrl+F)
A.T. is offline Find More Posts by A.T.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2012, 11:33 PM
Sloping the Financial Cliff
fcbflyer's Avatar
USA, CA, Santee
Joined Oct 2007
2,444 Posts
I don't use EPA set it to max if you need it and then set everything in T-Stop.
I wish they would replace EPA with T-Stop. There is IMO no use for the EPA the way it is.
fcbflyer is offline Find More Posts by fcbflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2012, 06:38 AM
Registered User
Brasil, MT, Sorriso
Joined Aug 2011
14 Posts
wouldn't be better if EPA did the same as T.Limit and get T.Limit out?
because if a set EPA, is because I want that the servo never throws more that.
Why mixers can overlap it? i think that T.Limit would be internally in EPA.
rgil is offline Find More Posts by rgil
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2012, 11:34 AM
Hitec/Multiplex USA
MikeMayberry's Avatar
Poway, California, United States
Joined Sep 2000
4,190 Posts
EPA should be used to set the desired overall travel... T-limit is used to prevent the servos from being over driven if the surface is influenced by more than one mix.

Mike.
MikeMayberry is online now Find More Posts by MikeMayberry
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2012, 12:32 PM
Sloping the Financial Cliff
fcbflyer's Avatar
USA, CA, Santee
Joined Oct 2007
2,444 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeMayberry View Post
EPA should be used to set the desired overall travel... T-limit is used to prevent the servos from being over driven if the surface is influenced by more than one mix.

Mike.
I set my overall travel in the flight conditions or D/R on some planes. I use T-limit to prevent servos being over driven.
The Aurora is great, so many ways to get your plane dialed.
fcbflyer is offline Find More Posts by fcbflyer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion EPA vs. Travel Limit Nathan Schmoekel Hitec/Multiplex USA 2 Mar 25, 2011 02:50 PM
Discussion using ATV/EPA to limit AMPs spastic Power Systems 1 May 08, 2008 06:06 PM
EPA - I don't get it! Valid8r Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 16 Mar 20, 2005 10:49 AM
EPA of throttle for current limit of SC... HienrichDorfman Power Systems 4 Mar 20, 2005 08:37 AM
Using DR or EPA to limit control surface throws? Peter Young Electric Plane Talk 5 Aug 18, 2002 04:10 PM