New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 03, 2015, 09:50 AM
Find More Posts by hufflehill
United States, MD, Rockville
Joined Jan 2015
21 Posts
Help!
Looking for new helicopter purchase advice

I would like to ask everyoneís opinion on help choosing a new RC Helicopter. I'm a semi-experienced RC Plane pilot and have also owned RC cars and boats. I've flown the little Sky Hog helicopters for a while and have since moved up to and flown (my son's Xmas present) coaxial copter.

I have researched the dickens out of moving up to something bigger and I am quite honestly torn between several models/features. I came across your website and was really impressed with its contents so I thought I'd give a shot at asking for help out here Ė Iíve read some older posts but with the new models out there Iím starting a new thread.

I have read and know about the difference between a fixed pitch and the CP copters. I'm (financial constraints) looking in the "200" size. I lean towards a fixed pitch but don't want to get stuck with it and its limited capabilities below the CP kind. I also want to get a RTF with a radio included so I start right out with a complete package.

However researching them all has about made my head explode. So I'm hoping to seek some experienced advice! So, from my endless research and reading and comparing I've come up with the following list:

1) Walkera HM Master CP (Flybarless, upper end of my $ range, included radio seems very nice, separate tail motor, however lots of plastic parts and a brushed main motor are detractors and its CP which obviously requires more skill but its touted for beginners Ė Iím just not sure how much to believe the marketing).

2) Blade 200 SRX (Flybarless, extreme upper end of $ range, decent radio, separate tail motor and both it and main are brushless, however its fixed pitch and Iíve read some forums with people listing quality problems. However this one I can get from a US based firm).