New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 05, 2016, 09:56 AM
Find More Posts by PilotDane
United States, NC, Roxboro
Joined Sep 2015
167 Posts
Question
Tx Programming for RES Glider

I am relatively new to soaring and have a Mystique RES on it's way. I have a black Spektrum DX-7 transmitter. My flying club is mostly powered planes (so there's nobody to ask) but I'd like to start out by setting my radio up like sailplane pilots tend to. Is there a switch that is commonly used to control the spoilers or a way that spoilers are most often programmed? I'd hate to progress further only to learn a year from now that I have my radio programmed in a non-standard manner and need to re-learn a new configuration.
PilotDane is offline Find More Posts by PilotDane
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 05, 2016, 11:00 AM
Find More Posts by LSF226
United States, WA, Shoreline
Joined May 2004
438 Posts
Good Question

I can tell you how I set it up, but I don't think there is a "standard". If there is, you'll find out about it here.

My spoilers are set up on the left stick, with down (toward you) is no spoiler and full up, spoiler fully deployed.

Landing I usually set the spoilers about 1/2 way and judge the model. If it sinks too fast, put the spoiler down. Not sinking enough, add spoiler.

Richard S
LSF226 is offline Find More Posts by LSF226
Old Apr 05, 2016, 03:50 PM
Find More Posts by liftchaser
USA, FL, Milton
Joined Jul 2008
145 Posts
I have spoilers on the LH throttle stick, but the direction is reversed. Forward is spoilers closed, aft is open.

Why? Because I like to rest my thumb on the rudder stick when I fly a full house sailplane to add rudder inputs in a turn, and to be sure the flaps are up in all configurations except landing. It's more comfortable if the stick is on the forward stop while that's happening.