HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 01, 2012, 10:57 AM
Seriously Undermedicated
Joined Feb 2012
5 Posts
Discussion
Another Maiden Adventure - A Short One...

Ok, I'm an experienced pilot and flight instructor but have never flown an R/C aircraft other than little heli's like the mcx2. I know from real flying that the cheapest place to learn is the simulator, so I ordered the Phoenix sim and spent some time flying and learning to land the funjet (closest thing I could find to the Skyfun). No one here to help me so this was all self-taught. Once I was comfortable that I could probably get it off the ground and back reasonably safely I took my shiny new Skyfun model out to the field, did the range check just like it said in my DX8 manual, advanced the throttle and gave it the heave. Got the plane up and into the downwind ok. It wasn't real pretty, but otherwise fine so far. I had it leveled off in the downwind, it was building speed and I was about to start trimming and adjusting when the canopy came off and took off half the prop. Didn't know about the utterly worthless canopy clips on these planes. Oh well. The CG was aft without the canopy so once I chopped the throttle I lost control and never really got it back. Luckily it came in on it's belly so the damage was limited to the broken prop and where the canopy got chewed up a bit. Rest assured it will be better secured next time. Just waiting for the free time and good weather for round two. Glad I found you folks, now I know where to come and ask questions.

Here's the video:

Skyfun maiden minor catastrophe (0 min 28 sec)

BruceN
BruceN is offline Find More Posts by BruceN
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 01, 2012, 11:30 AM
Denmark, Region Zealand, Greve Strand
Joined Oct 2008
83 Posts
Hi BruceN
Welcome to the RC world
Thats not too bad a start, i am sure a lot of people in here can tell you
much worse storys about their first flight