HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 20, 2012, 03:07 PM
Registered User
The Netherlands, ZH, Delft
Joined Nov 2010
9 Posts
------ Debug info------
tiltBeta: 0.75
panBeta: 0.75
gyroWeight: 0.98
GyroWeightPan: 0.98
servoPanCenter: 2100
servoTiltCenter: 2100
servoRollCenter: 2100
tiltFactor: 17.00
panFactor: 17.00
Gyro offset saved 0.00,0.00,0.00
Mag offset saved 0.00,0.00,0.00
Acc offset saved 0,0,0
Mag cal:0,0,0,-0.00,-0.00,-0.00
ADXL345 ID: 0
ITG3205 ID: 0
HMC ID: 0


I'm guessing the last few values should be other than 0?
thefamoushat is offline Find More Posts by thefamoushat
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 20, 2012, 03:09 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
740 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefamoushat View Post
------ Debug info------
tiltBeta: 0.75
panBeta: 0.75
gyroWeight: 0.98
GyroWeightPan: 0.98
servoPanCenter: 2100
servoTiltCenter: 2100
servoRollCenter: 2100
tiltFactor: 17.00
panFactor: 17.00
Gyro offset saved 0.00,0.00,0.00
Mag offset saved 0.00,0.00,0.00
Acc offset saved 0,0,0
Mag cal:0,0,0,-0.00,-0.00,-0.00
ADXL345 ID: 0
ITG3205 ID: 0
HMC ID: 0


I'm guessing the last few values should be other than 0?
Exactly, the 3 last lines (sensor-ID) should all have some specific numbers. Can't remember them, but ADXL is 235 or something like that (you should just check if they are different from 0). I know it's not much help, but it shows that the problem is the I2C communication, and not just for one sensor but all of them

Edit:
It should be like this:
ADXL345 ID: 229
ITG3205 ID: 104
HMC ID: 16
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 05:04 PM
Registered User
The Netherlands, ZH, Delft
Joined Nov 2010
9 Posts
So, its a hardware malfunction then?
thefamoushat is offline Find More Posts by thefamoushat
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 05:09 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
740 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefamoushat View Post
So, its a hardware malfunction then?
Hard to tell from here, but as you only have to connect 4 wires, you can't really do it wrong. If the sensorboard is connected right, I don't see any logic explanation but different hardware or faulty hardware...
Dennis Frie is online now Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 05:33 PM
Registered User
The Netherlands, ZH, Delft
Joined Nov 2010
9 Posts
i see 5 IC's on the board:

-the L883 magnetometer
-a 345B PHIL accelerometer
-something which says kb33 (regulator?)
-a six legged ic saying 702 (and something which looks like :3 sideways)
-an invensense itg3205 gyro
thefamoushat is offline Find More Posts by thefamoushat
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 08:08 PM
Registered User
imagebuff's Avatar
United States, TX, Tomball
Joined Jan 2011
681 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by v22chap View Post
Just found this thread ...(looking for head tracker to work on JR ) and scimmed over thread and would like to hear from imagebuff or cactus or any other person that has tried to work this with JR equipment ..

I understand I don't have the trainer switch capabilities or return to center position if lost signal ... but that is o.k. as the work I want to do with this HT system is buiding inspection and I fly DJI controlled Hexa copter Line of site ,,while my assistant wears the googles . So being on full time is no worry for me . But it would be nice to not have to have the assistant yell turn left ,,, now lower ,,,, no higher now .

By the way Thanks Dennis for the work you have done getting a great steady tracker system .
I'm using a JR system + Dragonlink UHF TX. I'm really not interfacing to the JR at all from the head tracker rather going directly to the headtracker port on the Dragonlink so I'm afraid I'm not much help unless your using Dragonlink.

Chris
imagebuff is offline Find More Posts by imagebuff
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:41 AM
Registered User
Узбекистан
Joined Mar 2007
29 Posts
Could somebody post here screenshot of advanced configuration of application with working parameters? I want to set same numbers and try.
Ppm in out works, but it drifts after many movements up to 45 degrees.
What are numbers of servo min,max,centre? Is it pwm in ms as usual?
how_eee is offline Find More Posts by how_eee
Last edited by how_eee; Nov 21, 2012 at 03:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 05:51 AM
Registered User
v22chap's Avatar
United States, IN, Granger
Joined Jan 2003
3,092 Posts
Thanks Imagebuff ... unfortunately I am not using dragonlink,,,, yet !!!!
I may have to look into that more now as it would be cheaper than buying a Futaba radio and more usefull
v22chap is online now Find More Posts by v22chap
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 02:16 PM
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
United Kingdom, Oxford
Joined Feb 2003
3,654 Posts
I received the Gyro and Arduino nano yesterday and just put it together on the breadboard all seems to work OK.

One question, If I want to use the gyro board vertically can I just swap the roll and pan functions. This looks OK on the scope but I have yet to link it to the Tx and try it using actual servos.

A.
AndyOne is offline Find More Posts by AndyOne
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 06:30 PM
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
United Kingdom, Oxford
Joined Feb 2003
3,654 Posts
I've been trying all evening to get the set-up calibrated but with inconsistent results. It looked OK on the scope before I calibrated anything but the more I run through the procedure the worse it gets. I also now have the problem of drifting back towards the centre, together with roll/cross connection, any ideas.

I bought both the Arduino nano and the gyro board from googluckbuy, has anyone else had problems with the gyro board from this supplier.

A.
AndyOne is offline Find More Posts by AndyOne
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 12:47 AM
Registered User
xscorp's Avatar
Valencia - Spain
Joined Sep 2004
35 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefamoushat View Post
------ Debug info------
tiltBeta: 0.75
panBeta: 0.75
gyroWeight: 0.98
GyroWeightPan: 0.98
servoPanCenter: 2100
servoTiltCenter: 2100
servoRollCenter: 2100
tiltFactor: 17.00
panFactor: 17.00
Gyro offset saved 0.00,0.00,0.00
Mag offset saved 0.00,0.00,0.00
Acc offset saved 0,0,0
Mag cal:0,0,0,-0.00,-0.00,-0.00
ADXL345 ID: 0
ITG3205 ID: 0
HMC ID: 0


I'm guessing the last few values should be other than 0?
Same results with my gy85 from DX. I tríed with pull up and pull down resistors but no luck. Led is on but i2c communication seems to be the fault.

Jm
xscorp is online now Find More Posts by xscorp
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 05:06 AM
Registered User
don9f's Avatar
United Kingdom, Belper
Joined Mar 2011
167 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyOne View Post
I've been trying all evening to get the set-up calibrated but with inconsistent results. It looked OK on the scope before I calibrated anything but the more I run through the procedure the worse it gets. I also now have the problem of drifting back towards the centre, together with roll/cross connection, any ideas.

I bought both the Arduino nano and the gyro board from googluckbuy, has anyone else had problems with the gyro board from this supplier.

A.
Mine came from DealExtreme and I also had the Pan drifting back to centre until I set the Pan Weight to 100.....then it worked fine. I've just been out for a flight on this gorgeous morning and the HT was working well. Not sure if being set to 100 is right, but it works for me.

I've ordered more parts from the same supplier as yours to make another, this time putting the sensor board on top of the Arduino, to experiment a bit. At the moment my sensor is on my goggles and linked to the Arduino in my pocket with its 6v battery.....want to improve on that.

Cheers Don
don9f is offline Find More Posts by don9f
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 05:47 AM
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
United Kingdom, Oxford
Joined Feb 2003
3,654 Posts
Don,

Do you mean the pan weight is set in the firmware listing, if so when I look through it, it already is set to 100 in the latest version.

A.
AndyOne is offline Find More Posts by AndyOne
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 06:15 AM
Registered User
Gabek's Avatar
Magyarország, Baranya, Pécs
Joined Feb 2008
423 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyOne View Post
Don,

Do you mean the pan weight is set in the firmware listing, if so when I look through it, it already is set to 100 in the latest version.

A.
Hi,

I bought it from DX also, and having no problem.

Did you do a precise magnetometer calibration?

Gábor
Gabek is offline Find More Posts by Gabek
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 07:01 AM
Oxford Panic
AndyOne's Avatar
United Kingdom, Oxford
Joined Feb 2003
3,654 Posts
Gabor,

I tried to buy from DX but there were Paypal problems so I bought from Goodluckbuy instead.

AFAIK I have done the magnetometer calibration correctly, is there perhaps a trick I'm missing.

A.
AndyOne is offline Find More Posts by AndyOne
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Diy osd (Arduino and opensource) Dennis Frie FPV Equipment 2412 Jul 10, 2014 02:10 PM
Discussion PPM to PWM circuit for headtracker 38cjc38 DIY Electronics 18 Mar 04, 2011 06:43 AM
Question Adding additional PPM inputs to a headtracker/module setup. SebastianJ FPV Talk 0 Aug 19, 2009 07:38 AM
Question Adding additional PPM inputs to a headtracker. SebastianJ DIY Electronics 0 Aug 18, 2009 03:37 PM