Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Today, 02:16 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2013
2,900 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boba7523 View Post
Thanks!

Oh, an elementary question: My LEDs use 24 awg wires, which I saw can carry a maximum of 0.57 amps. If the 12V BECs come with 16 awg wires which can carry max 3 amps, am i still ok to splice them together?
You'll be fine as long as your LEDs are 12v. I'm running 2-3A through 30awg wiring.
ElGuano is online now Find More Posts by ElGuano
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Neopixel mounting revision
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Today, 02:19 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2014
190 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mowee View Post
Yes I would think so.

I can't see why the LEDs would be using wire that can't handle the full amp load of the all the LEDs turned on and 16AWG wire would be able to handle way more LEDs, so it should be fine.

.57 amps is the very very conservative maximum. I think a 1 meter RGM LED strip with 60 RGB LEDs uses around 1.2 Amps with all LEDs full on.

What and how many LEDs are you using?
Using these LEDs.

Not going to have them on the entire F450 arm, just the motor part.

And what i meant was, the LED strips came with 24 awg wires, but the 12V BEC comes with 16 AWG wires i think (i don't have them here yet)...

So i wanted to know if splicing them together would damage either unit.
boba7523 is offline Find More Posts by boba7523
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:33 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2013
2,900 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boba7523 View Post
Using these LEDs.

Not going to have them on the entire F450 arm, just the motor part.

And what i meant was, the LED strips came with 24 awg wires, but the 12V BEC comes with 16 AWG wires i think (i don't have them here yet)...

So i wanted to know if splicing them together would damage either unit.
Your LEDs are a train carrying 500lb of cargo, and you need to get to the end of the track. Your 24awg wire is a section of track that can hold up a train with 1000lb of cargo. Your 16awg wire is another section of track further down the line that can hold up a train with 100,000lb of cargo. Pushing your train down that track is going to be fine
ElGuano is online now Find More Posts by ElGuano
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Neopixel mounting revision
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:58 AM
Registered User
Ireland, Dublin, Dublin City
Joined Jun 2014
7 Posts
Double Post - Sorry
rburke is online now Find More Posts by rburke
Last edited by rburke; Today at 02:59 AM. Reason: Double Post - Sorry
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:58 AM
Registered User
Ireland, Dublin, Dublin City
Joined Jun 2014
7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevyfried View Post
Anyone using the DYS 3-axis gimbal?

I have one on my 450.
Really great I have to say.
I think I ned to tighten up the yaw PID as it's bit lose on a quick yaw.
But gives really 'flowy' shots.

Getting it centered can be a problem, but I have DT6 on my T8J assigned to the yaw axis so I can fine tune before I send it up.
Have VR as the tilt and it's lovely and slow and smooth.
rburke is online now Find More Posts by rburke
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:24 AM
Unregulated User
Sac D's Avatar
United States, CA, Sacramento
Joined Mar 2013
725 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elguano View Post
your leds are a train carrying 500lb of cargo, and you need to get to the end of the track. Your 24awg wire is a section of track that can hold up a train with 1000lb of cargo. Your 16awg wire is another section of track further down the line that can hold up a train with 100,000lb of cargo. Pushing your train down that track is going to be fine

Woot Woot!
Sac D is offline Find More Posts by Sac D
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:09 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Yateley
Joined Feb 2014
93 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevyfried View Post
Anyone using the DYS 3-axis gimbal?
I've ordered one - the forum is here http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2059104

ANDREW
adchesney is offline Find More Posts by adchesney
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:32 AM
Registered User
Bill Glover's Avatar
United Kingdom, Bracknell
Joined Nov 2000
11,420 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demo7 View Post
Power (Battery) leads out the side or out the back, where do you guys prefer?
As far away from the compass/GPS puck as possible since they can cause a significant magnetic field. So for me, always at the front.
Bill Glover is offline Find More Posts by Bill Glover
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:34 AM
Registered User
Bill Glover's Avatar
United Kingdom, Bracknell
Joined Nov 2000
11,420 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwolfe View Post
OK, good stuff. Here. So the 18 amp ones may be the way to go. I have 3 x DJI 30amp ones. I think I'll just buy new DJI 18amp ones to go all around.

You guys like these better than the Simon K ones?

Thanks
I use DJI 18A ones on my 3kg hexa - they are fine.
Bill Glover is offline Find More Posts by Bill Glover
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:21 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, Fort Lauderdale
Joined Mar 2011
477 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rburke View Post
I have one on my 450.
Really great I have to say.
I think I ned to tighten up the yaw PID as it's bit lose on a quick yaw.
But gives really 'flowy' shots.

Getting it centered can be a problem, but I have DT6 on my T8J assigned to the yaw axis so I can fine tune before I send it up.
Have VR as the tilt and it's lovely and slow and smooth.
Thank you!
chevyfried is online now Find More Posts by chevyfried
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:47 AM
Registered User
Ireland, Dublin, Dublin City
Joined Jun 2014
7 Posts
Sunset on Sandymount (2 min 55 sec)


Sunset over Dublin and Aviva Stadium (1 min 20 sec)


Aviva Stadium Ariel Shots 6 (2 min 24 sec)


Here's the very first videos I made.
Probably not the best judge of the quality as they were my very first times up with a quad and a gimbal as well.
I know I yaw too fast, but you should get some idea of the gimbal from them.
rburke is online now Find More Posts by rburke
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Dji Flame Wheel F450 Venom93corba Multirotor Talk 16 May 28, 2014 01:30 PM
Help! Flame Wheel F450 / F550 NAZA with Spektrum DX8 AR8000 setup assistance jasper7821 Multirotor Talk 14 Mar 19, 2014 08:17 AM
Sold Dji flame wheel f450 arf kit (w/motors, esc & props) Angry Bird Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 2 Apr 01, 2013 06:30 PM
Sold DJI F550 Flame Wheel with DJI Motors & DJi 30amp ESCs & Props peaksview Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 2 Jan 22, 2013 09:53 AM
Sold X468 XT Flame Gear Gimbal For DJI F450 or F550. Sale or trade for Naza GPS. vacahtu Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Nov 09, 2012 06:57 PM