HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Old Aug 09, 2012, 08:46 AM
United States, MI, Lansing
Joined Jul 2012
45 Posts
Discussion
Just built my foam cargo...and crashed it!

http://youtu.be/4WAK4goqkXg

Testing the control surfaces

RC Foam Cargo Plane (maiden flight and crash) (0 min 45 sec)

Sooo I crashed it on my first flight! THE GOOD NEWS IS...I have since repaired the bird, adding extra strength to the wings, vertical staiblilezer, and the nose. Its currently raining but I'm hoping I can give it another go later today. Stay tuned! Also if you have any tips let me know!

P.S. I'm a noob, feel free to laugh and give me as much advice as possible. Also stay tuned for more vids of my progress.

Also check my blog by searching MY A-10 WartBLOG. Check out the RC Jet I plan on building...currently in the early stages.
AirborneRME is offline Find More Posts by AirborneRME
Last edited by AirborneRME; Aug 09, 2012 at 08:55 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 09, 2012, 09:15 AM
Fly and Crash
United States, WI, Waukesha
Joined Aug 2009
88 Posts
Watching your video testing the servos, I thought those are some huge ailerons compared to your rudder and elevator. Also, we aren't able to check the stick movement compared to the control servo movement, you sure you didn't have the ailerons reversed. Otherwise it looks good, better then some of the maidens I've had.
dieselBird is offline Find More Posts by dieselBird
Old Aug 09, 2012, 03:53 PM
Joined Jul 2012
45 Posts
You're right! my ailerons were reversed! How do I fix that? Thanks for the tip!

Also, yeah its my first scratch build, and also my first time flying anything besides an RC Heli. I figured for the first time flying large ailerons were better for control, also I could always cut the wings and add flaps later.
Old Aug 09, 2012, 03:57 PM
Joined Jul 2012
45 Posts