HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 03, 2012, 06:30 AM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,930 Posts
Along the same lines, I just got a new D8R-II plus from Aloft, and an Ebay RSSI-DAC converter (ordered). With the older D8R's it was said they needed new firmware to get RSSI out of the DAC converter; do the new D8R-II plus need it, and if so, what cable/interface is necessary.
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 03, 2012, 06:40 AM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,566 Posts
@RENATOA & Kilrah, thanks! I wasn't aware of that.
I knew about the D8[x] and noticed some weeks ago in D4FR while checking it's pulse generation.



Ended up not testing the D4R-II.
I suppose in the case of the D4FR there is no way to update it.

Seems I'll have a fw flash party tonight.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Last edited by IceWind; Dec 03, 2012 at 06:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2012, 09:03 AM
Happy FPV flyer
Kilrah's Avatar
Switzerland
Joined Sep 2006
3,785 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by u2builder View Post
Along the same lines, I just got a new D8R-II plus from Aloft, and an Ebay RSSI-DAC converter (ordered). With the older D8R's it was said they needed new firmware to get RSSI out of the DAC converter; do the new D8R-II plus need it, and if so, what cable/interface is necessary.
Yes, you need to flash the D8R-XP's firmware. Note you can only have RSSI together with PPM output mode.
To upgrade, you just need the USB cable. http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...USB_Cable.html
Kilrah is online now Find More Posts by Kilrah
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2012, 09:17 AM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,930 Posts
My RX is the D8r-II plus. I thought with the DAC converter I can have all of the channels plus RSSI. Am I mistaken about this. Do I need to reflash this one too? Does Aloft sell the correct USB cable?
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2012, 09:22 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,019 Posts
If you bought eBay RSSI decoder you don't need reflashing, it works as is on any D8R receiver except the first V1, having +5V in the middle of serrial line.
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2012, 10:05 AM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,930 Posts
Thanks! Good to know. The Ebay decoder is on its way from Hungary and of course I got the RX from Aloft in a couple of days. They are great!
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 08:05 PM
Fly now crash later
davecrash's Avatar
Canada, ON, Newmarket
Joined Nov 2006
2,228 Posts
Put my order in today for the Frsky. Am I reading this correctly, The Ebay decoder will give me RSSI without setting the Rx to CPPM?
davecrash is offline Find More Posts by davecrash
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2012, 10:46 PM
Registered User
rcroadtrain's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Marsfield
Joined Feb 2012
354 Posts
got a email from the guy in hungary, saying I still need to flash the Rx..
in his mail he pointed me to a few webpages,
firmware: http://file.emiter.hu/Modellezes/FrS...pdate_CPPM.rar
and method: http://code.google.com/p/uavp-mods/w...SkyProgramming

now here's where it gets a bit 'fuzzy'...
the method page shows a PC hardware part, that is now discontinued
the firmware -appears to be- the same as the firmware available from FrSky's website. (maybe..it seems to have the same release number.)

from what I could gather, the 'update' puts cppm on ch8's output, while leaving ch1-7 as before..
and.. something about needing the update to get rssi onto the side pins of the Rx.

I -really- dont want to lose ch8. I'm already using 7ch into the Naza, and was hoping for ch8 to be able to pan the FPV camera.

The FrSky USB programmer from hobbyking seems to have a plug that would fit the transmitter module, but not the receiver...

hmm...

several people make OSD units. Several make receivers. Why cany they get together and make some form of 'standard' for RSSI, and BUILD IT INTO the receivers... or is that asking too much??
rcroadtrain is offline Find More Posts by rcroadtrain
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 03:24 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,019 Posts
He must be drunk...

This is the ebay device:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FrSky-RSSI...-/120724292816

and it outputs on blue wire analog RSSI from any D8R receiver newer than V2, no reflashing needed !

Here a video showing the process:

FrSky RSSI - DAC Converter for FPV OSD (2 min 31 sec)
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 05:52 AM
Registered User
HC1969's Avatar
Magyarország, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Miskolc
Joined Feb 2010
185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
He must be drunk...

This is the ebay device:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FrSky-RSSI...-/120724292816

and it outputs on blue wire analog RSSI from any D8R receiver newer than V2, no reflashing needed !

Here a video showing the process:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQjcyTkd118
Hello!

Origin FW not send telemetry datas via side port! Therefore need update for CPPM (and telemetry send) FW version.
The result is:
7ch normal PPM
+1ch CPPM
+telemetry datas via side port (for RSSI-DAC converter)!

BR!
Istvan
from Hungary
HC1969 is offline Find More Posts by HC1969
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 06:24 AM
Registered User
rcroadtrain's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Marsfield
Joined Feb 2012
354 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HC1969 View Post
Hello!

Origin FW not send telemetry datas via side port! Therefore need update for CPPM (and telemetry send) FW version.
The result is:
7ch normal PPM
+1ch CPPM
+telemetry datas via side port (for RSSI-DAC converter)!

BR!
Istvan
from Hungary
so, I lose the use of ch8?... not too happy about that!
rcroadtrain is offline Find More Posts by rcroadtrain
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 06:29 AM
Registered User
HC1969's Avatar
Magyarország, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Miskolc
Joined Feb 2010
185 Posts
Unfortunately, complain than FrSky!
HC1969 is offline Find More Posts by HC1969
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 06:30 AM
Registered User
Romania, Dolj, Craiova
Joined Sep 2007
14,019 Posts
Hmmm... must check
renatoa is online now Find More Posts by renatoa
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 07:17 AM
Fly now crash later
davecrash's Avatar
Canada, ON, Newmarket
Joined Nov 2006
2,228 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcroadtrain View Post
so, I lose the use of ch8?... not too happy about that!
Better then no RSSI for me.
davecrash is offline Find More Posts by davecrash
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2012, 10:38 AM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
USA, NH, Alstead
Joined Oct 2007
4,930 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by davecrash View Post
Better then no RSSI for me.
+1

I feel real happy that there is an inexpensive way to
get RSSI. My DAC is ordered and on the way. I already have the DR8-ii plus waiting.
u2builder is offline Find More Posts by u2builder
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-Review The video for FrSky 2.4Ghz Chase Wu Radios 0 Dec 16, 2009 01:18 AM
Discussion Realflight G5 Combat so far so good! splitpilot Simulators 0 Nov 22, 2009 06:36 AM
Discussion So far... So good rikks Mini Helis 35 Feb 17, 2006 12:42 PM
Aerofly Deluxe so far so good! Gary Morris Simulators 5 Aug 19, 2005 07:23 AM
Schulze 18.46K v7.02 - so far, so good! Jason M Electric Heli Talk 4 Aug 11, 2002 01:25 AM