Old Oct 07, 2012, 12:01 PM
Find More Posts by Disco Stew
I ask a lot of questions.
Canada, AB, Airdrie
Joined Aug 2012
251 Posts
Question
Foam question...Depron vs Dollar Tree Foam.

Im new to the foamy scene. I am curious as to the difference in all these scratchbuild plans that say they are made with depron. I live in Canada and depron is not easy to get, but DTF is easy to find. So my questions are:

1) Is DTF an equivalent to depron (as far as building goes)?
2) Can DTF be layered to match the thickness of 6mm+ depron builds?
3) What is the structural differences between Dep and DTF? (i.e. stiffness/weight etc)
4) Paper on or off? (Reasons for the difference.....)

I know that modifications to a plan will need to be made to things like insert cutouts to match material thickness.

I'm sure there is probably a thread somewhere in the vastness of RCG that explains all this...but I can't seem to find it.
Disco Stew is offline Find More Posts by Disco Stew
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 07, 2012, 12:15 PM
Find More Posts by Wilfor
RC Adddict
Canada, BC, Williams Lake
Joined Jan 2010
5,133 Posts
Stew Welcome . I have built many depron planes out of dollar store foam . Plans can be modified to work and DT foam is a great option for new builders . I have progressed to using Model Plane foam now and wont go back to the dollar store stuff . Springer has a bunch of One sheet plans designed for DT foam . Depron is not cost effective in Canada IMO . DT foam is softer and less brittle the depron . Always remove the paper as it adds to much weight compared to the reinforcement . you can layer or laminate DT foam but you get closer to 8-9 mm and its not usually needed . DT foam is not as stiff as depron so not as nice for flat plate 3d style planes . more reinforcement needed but it also takes crashes a little better . Remember build it light to fly dont try to reinforce it to survive crashes as it gets heavy and will be damaged more in the end