HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 27, 2005, 12:12 AM
Virgina
Joined Sep 2003
54 Posts
Question
If I had a nickel for every question....

Hello all,

I'm completely new to the world of foamie and fixed wing flying. I spent all last summer flying electric choppers and it was just too expensive ($2500 over 3 months in repair parts for a cheap chopper). I've now made the move to fixed wing.

To accomplish this move, I've bought, built, assembled and flown an Eflite Ultimate biplane. I'm currently running a Park 370 brushless, Eflite 20a ESC, Hitec 4-channel reciever and 4 HS55 servos. My two battery packs are both thunderpower brand with one being a 2-cell 1800 and the other a 3-cell 1300.

I recently bought myself a wadge of FFF (Blucor) and am interested in making some of the planes mentioned. I'm curious though as to where someone like myself can go for information on build techniques. I see many awosome foamies with nice rounded surfaces and 3-Dimensional fuse's but I'm unsure of how to build them or even go about starting them.

On the powerplant side, I've searched high and low and not found anything about my motor or ESC. I've found a bit of information on my batteries, but not much at all.

What I'd like is a beginners-guide to FFF construction and assembly of 3-D parts to include fuse's and wings. I'd really like to get a good grasp on foamies in everything from making nice, straight cuts to selecting the right powerplant for the aircraft. I'd like to use the Park 370 as much as possible as I've already spent the $60 on it.

I have about 1,000,001 questions about foamies and would much rather read a beginners how-to than ask inane boring questions that usually get asked when someone joins the hobby.

About the only questions I would quickly like to know the answers to follow: