HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 05, 2012, 01:08 AM
If it flies, I will crash it
mxspode's Avatar
USA, CO, Westminster
Joined Jan 2008
3,015 Posts
Funny how that works out. I originally built mine to make clock parts and now I just make R/C parts. Never have made a clock gear with it. Maybe this winter.

Rob...
mxspode is online now Find More Posts by mxspode
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 11, 2012, 01:29 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
2 Posts
Deleted.
fanefane is offline Find More Posts by fanefane
Last edited by fanefane; Sep 11, 2012 at 01:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2012, 06:29 PM
Make something. Anything!
bgriggs's Avatar
Syracuse Hancock, New York, United States
Joined Jul 2003
1,002 Posts
I am not aware of a low cost foam cutting software that will do that.
bgriggs is offline Find More Posts by bgriggs
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 02:30 PM
Make something. Anything!
bgriggs's Avatar
Syracuse Hancock, New York, United States
Joined Jul 2003
1,002 Posts
I just posted part eight of the CNC Sign Project tutorial - Making test pieces.
http://www.makermasters.com/cnc-sign...g-test-pieces/
bgriggs is offline Find More Posts by bgriggs
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 12:37 PM
Make something. Anything!
bgriggs's Avatar
Syracuse Hancock, New York, United States
Joined Jul 2003
1,002 Posts
I know this is not related but it is a good deal.

I just saw this tracksaw system for sale on Amazon for $100 and ordered one.
http://amzn.to/QOSJhj

Bill
bgriggs is offline Find More Posts by bgriggs
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 05:52 AM
Registered User
kajakmannen's Avatar
Gavle, Sweden
Joined Jul 2003
598 Posts
Sorry for highjacking this thread but I saw that you used the HobbyCNC Pro controller with the HobbyCNC steppers. Im currently in the late stages of building my own milling machine. Are now connecting the steppers and testing but I have some kind of problem. Hopefully somewhere here have earlier had the same problems and have solved them hopefully. My questions are:

1) The steppers are the 23-305-DS8A and I have connected them according tothe instruction in the end of the HobbyCNC pro controller instruction. Can I use a 5 wire cable and connect all COM cables to the same pole or do I need to separate the A, a COM and the b, B COM?
I have good 5 wired 0,75 cables that I want to use if possible.

2) to try to search for a fault I connected a loos motor (Same model and brand) to the controller card and the motor just stopped and if I try to jog it it takes a small jump forward and then frezes while giving away a squeeeeling sound. What can be wrong??

3) Any special setup that one need to do in MACH3 (except the pin configuration for step/dir for each axis?

BR / Kajaken
kajakmannen is offline Find More Posts by kajakmannen
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 08:44 AM
Make something. Anything!
bgriggs's Avatar
Syracuse Hancock, New York, United States
Joined Jul 2003
1,002 Posts
Hobbycnc has a support forum that can answer these questions better than I can. Here goes my answers.

1. I don't know I usually hook things up the way they recommend in the instructions.

2. If the motor LOCK UP when powered on then it is probably a software issue. If you can spin the shaft by hand while under power then there is a problem with the controller.

3. There is a setup video available of the machsupport.com site.

Bill
bgriggs is offline Find More Posts by bgriggs
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 12:08 AM
Registered User
macinr's Avatar
USA, CA, Santa Barbara
Joined Feb 2003
1,124 Posts
Thanks for posting all of this - threads like these remind me that one of the purposes of the internet is the democratization of information. Philosophy aside...

Have you ever cut Corian with your Hobbycnc setup?
macinr is offline Find More Posts by macinr
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 10:30 PM
Make something. Anything!
bgriggs's Avatar
Syracuse Hancock, New York, United States
Joined Jul 2003
1,002 Posts
Your welcome.

I have cut Corian. It cuts very similar to MDF.

If you would like to see some of my other CNC stuff, check out my blog.
http://makermasters.com

Bill
bgriggs is offline Find More Posts by bgriggs
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 05, 2013, 12:11 PM
Make something. Anything!
bgriggs's Avatar
Syracuse Hancock, New York, United States
Joined Jul 2003
1,002 Posts
Edge Finder, Z Zero plate

I thought some of you might find it useful to see how I locate the edge of a workpiece prior to machining with the CNC Router.

I use a Makers Guide Triple Edge Finder to automatically locate the parts Z height, and corners. I use a free plugin for Mach3 to do the movement.

http://www.themakersguide.com/


Using The Makers Guide (5 min 58 sec)
bgriggs is offline Find More Posts by bgriggs
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 05, 2013, 06:34 PM
If it flies, I will crash it
mxspode's Avatar
USA, CO, Westminster
Joined Jan 2008
3,015 Posts
Nice work Bill. I could use something like that.

Rob...
mxspode is online now Find More Posts by mxspode
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 02, 2013, 11:42 PM
Make something. Anything!
bgriggs's Avatar
Syracuse Hancock, New York, United States
Joined Jul 2003
1,002 Posts
I recently did some more upgrading to my CNC Router table. I decided to do an aluminum CNC Router build. I made some parts from machined aluminum to replace the MDF Parts.

The upgrade went great and have a stronger, faster machine.

There are more details on my blogs.

http://www.makermasters.com/aluminum-cnc-router-build

http://www.themakersguide.com/warp-drive-project-story

Bill
bgriggs is offline Find More Posts by bgriggs
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2013, 08:27 AM
AKA Shane
hz6b9k's Avatar
Utica, MI
Joined Sep 2009
291 Posts
Outstanding! That sure looks like one solid CNC. Excellent work, Bill.
hz6b9k is offline Find More Posts by hz6b9k
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2013, 02:24 PM
Make something. Anything!
bgriggs's Avatar
Syracuse Hancock, New York, United States
Joined Jul 2003
1,002 Posts
Thanks Shane.
bgriggs is offline Find More Posts by bgriggs
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2013, 11:17 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2013
3 Posts
hello friend
first of all I send you greetings from Venezuela
sigiendo to you and state contruccion blog Chopper Pro driver kit Hobbycnc ye done everything step by step so that you understand what you made that will limit the pin 11 and ground.
but my big question for serving the connectors October 12, 13 and 15 I think one of them is the emergency stop but not to be connected.
I would like if it's in your hands to help me in that step that you connect the mach3 threw me at first by mistake and that limit grasias solve it to your blog but now tells me this down the e stop and I have stopped by what you wrote above.
I would appreciate if you can send me a graph of the connection of these pins.
without further beforehand thank you
Carlos Redondo
carlos redondo is offline Find More Posts by carlos redondo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Hobby CNC 4 axis CNC Chopper driver board build. bgriggs The Builders Workshop 39 Jul 23, 2007 08:54 PM
Sold HobbyCNC 4 axis CNC controller with power supply bgriggs Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Apr 07, 2006 06:50 AM
how much $$$ for a homebuilt 4 axis cnc router new flyer The Builders Workshop 8 Nov 18, 2005 11:05 PM
Yak/Edge combo build, step-by-step rpvpilot 3D Flying 5 Mar 13, 2005 08:16 AM
Mountain Motors Cessna 180 Build Step by Step dulcelife Parkflyers 254 May 27, 2004 11:41 AM