HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 23, 2005, 01:51 PM
Horned one
Vigo, Spain
Joined Sep 2004
759 Posts
Repair advice, please

Looks like my luck run out today. Cartwheeled my Fredy on landing and snapped the T-tail at the usual place. I'm not very experienced with glass repairs (although I know I will be, eventually ), but I would like to try to do the repair on the inside. Here's my plan, please share your comments:

1- take out rx and elevator servo (in the tail) to have easier access without wires.

2- sand the inside a bit to promote adhesion. Repair cracks with epoxy and microballoons.

3- seize the opportunity to apply a few pieces of carbon tow to the fuse boom to add strength (just because it's easier now without the tail).

4- Wrap a length of carbon tow into a tube about three inches long and tack inside one of the parts. Once properly positioned, wet with epoxy, put a sausage-shaped balloon inside (sticking out from the servo opening) and join both parts.

5- Hot glue a couple alignment braces on the outside. These can be pulled without leaving residue later.

6- Inflate balloon to press carbon into fuz walls.

7- pull out balloon (may have to lubricate? might as well use a condom. Yes - unused). reinstall radio gear and adjust CG.

Do you think this is a good approach? do I need glass also? how many layers of carbon / glass? adhesive epoxy or laminating epoxy for this? anything else I might be missing?

Here's the pics:
zero-zero is offline Find More Posts by zero-zero
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 23, 2005, 01:54 PM
Southern California
Joined Sep 2003
6,903 Posts
Sounds like a good plan! Just do it!!

Geez-- just repair it like you outlined! You can always build a new plane for Target's idea. Fix it and fly it!! KISS method. Once you repair it with the carbon and glass--it won't break there anymore. FWIW
T
timmig is offline Find More Posts by timmig
Last edited by timmig; Nov 23, 2005 at 09:52 PM.
Old Nov 23, 2005, 02:09 PM
Detail Freak