HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 21, 2014, 03:18 AM
Australia, ACT, Canberra
Joined Mar 2014
7 Posts
Discussion
First Conversion - Just a few questions...

Hi everyone!

I recently bought an academy IX B 1:150 motorized U-boat from Ebay for around $25 AUD from Korea. I am hoping to start off with something easy so I can learn since I am completely new to building R/C vehicles .

With this in mind I would just like to ask a few question about the kit and the U-boat as well as previous builds before I launch head first into the hobby and ruin its potential to be a great model .

1. After reading previous threads about their own builds, I noticed they all used some kind of plastic tubing that houses the push rods and links the compartments. Do you guys know what this is called? I tried searching push rod housing/ push rod tubing but nothing came up.

2. Looking at the box and some other variations of the models it seems the paint scheme is red and white with a tan deck. Does anyone know whether this was for all subs or just the early built ones? I personally really dislike the colour scheme and I have seen other U-boats such as the VIIC with a dark gray and light gray scheme. Did the type IX/B use this as well?

Thank you very much for future reference!
mr_president_jk is offline Find More Posts by mr_president_jk
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 21, 2014, 08:22 AM
Philippines
Joined Jan 2005
784 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_president_jk View Post
I noticed they all used some kind of plastic tubing that houses the push rods and links the compartments. Do you guys know what this is called? I tried searching push rod housing/ push rod tubing but nothing came up.[QOUTE]

try silicone fuel tubing

[QOUTE=mr_president_jk;27850159]