HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 24, 2014, 07:43 AM
United States, MI, Birmingham
Joined Apr 2013
12 Posts
Question
Ultra Micro P-40 Warhawk

Hi Guys,

I'm still a bit of a newbie at all of this so please bear with me if I mess up the terminology a bit...

I have the above plane and to say learning to fly it has a steep learning curve would, for me at least, be an understatement!

I've found the plane to be unforgiving to my dead thumbs and more than a little fragile. After a couple of 'mishaps' (which required 1) repairing a broken wing and 2) repair to the fuselage when it snapped off in front of the tail feathers) I figured out that by using a significant amount of aileron/rudder mix and more than a little expo I was able to get it tamed down and could fly it Still gave me sweaty palms but at least I could put my CA away for a bit.

Unfortunately the last time out, when I checked the flight surfaces right before launch, I missed the fact that somehow it had lost the aileron/rudder mix and I hit the wall before I could get it back on the ground. No wing repair this time, it will need a new one. Which brings me to the point of this posting.

I am wondering if there is a way to add some carbon fiber rod to the wing for added strength and if that's feasible, what's the best way to do it.

All thoughts appreciated,

Kerry

P.S. Regarding my feeling that this plane is too fragile... the two crashes that damaged the plane enough to require a trip to the emergency room before the final encounter with the wall were NOT hard crashes nor at high speed. Ok, they weren't exactly soft landings either but my T-28 and Sukhoi have survived much worse without damage.
deac1234 is online now Find More Posts by deac1234
Last edited by deac1234; Jan 24, 2014 at 09:24 AM. Reason: Added some missing words.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 24, 2014, 09:11 AM
Joined Apr 2013
99 Posts
That plane is a handfull that is for sure.