Old May 08, 2016, 09:53 PM
Find More Posts by chevyv8
Joined Apr 2015
1 Posts
Discussion
Lipo is warm with 5 min of time

I am new to rc planes and lipos. My wife bought me an airfield 1450mm p51 last year for Christmas. I flew it once and realized I need a trainer first. Prior to the flight I charged the lipo it came with. Flew it for a few minutes and stored the plane and the battery. Having not done anything else to the battery. I pulled the plane out the other day, charged the battery and started checking things over. I had the plane in my yard with the tail blocked and spun the motor to full rpm a couple times. Plane was in power for about 3 minutes total. Plane was powered on for about 5. I opened the canopy and immediately felt some heat in the battery/reciever compartment. The battery was warm but not hot. I did not take a temp reading.
Should I be concerned, should I do something different.
chevyv8 is offline Find More Posts by chevyv8
to remove ads between posts
Old May 08, 2016, 10:07 PM
Find More Posts by Wintr
USA, MO, Florissant
Joined Nov 2010
2,666 Posts
Captive like that, you didn't get much cooling air through the battery compartment, and the battery generates heat, so will warm with use. BTW, you should get a cell checker to test the battery; it should be stored between flights at about 3.8-3.9V. Higher or lower Voltages, long term, will slowly degrade the battery.
Wintr is online now Find More Posts by Wintr
Old May 10, 2016, 09:59 AM
Find More Posts by Mike_Then
I hate waiting for parts
United States, NC, Garner
Joined Apr 2001
8,867 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wintr View Post
Captive like that, you didn't get much cooling air through the battery compartment, and the battery generates heat, so will warm with use. BTW, you should get a cell checker to test the battery; it should be stored between flights at about 3.8-3.9V. Higher or lower Voltages, long term, will slowly degrade the battery.